We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Poacher

The Poacher
1 Brockley Road | Elsworth, Cambridge, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 526 Restaurants in Cambridge
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Group of us went for for a mid week meal. It would be fair to say we all had an extremely enjoyable time. The service was excellent and the food both in quality and quantity was very good. The staff before, during and after the meal was attentive and was always available. The meal was served all together and within an appropriate time. All of us stated what we had chosen was very enjoyable with no complaints.

Two of our group we lived away and both stated they would return to the Poacher for a meal when next in Cambridgeshire. I would highly recommend you visit the Poacher you will not be disappointed

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    10
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“pleasantly suprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Were staying at nearby hotel(5 miles away ) found this on trip advisor and thought why not? Was glad I did. I booked table for two on Thursday for following night. Pub food very good, a lot of 'home made ' on menu and not pages and pages of choice - which was good Started with Camembert to share- loads there asked for more bread- no problem. Main = fish +'proper' chips with mushy peas+ a Lasagne- yes I know - only basic but very good. There were other choices on menu, we just fancied these. Too full for desert so can't comment. Staff very helpful and friendly and had time, even though very busy. Car park full ( another good sign ) Prices - very reasonable Would recommend -CB23 4JS

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Family run pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The couple who run this pub specialise in home cooked food. You can tell when most of the food you get is frozen from the warehouse - and while catering companies can't survive without an element if this, at the Poacher much if the food, particularly the pies, look home made. Good place to go if you have foreign visitors

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge England
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Couldn't be more helpful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Popped in to The Poacher on the way home for a later Sunday lunch. The landlady was very accommodating and aware of vegetarian's requirements. Including those who are 'vegetarian' and happy to eat fish/potatoes in goose fat etc also know as pains in the bum to true vegetarians! As the roast potatoes were cooked in animal fat I was offered alternatives. Vegetarian gravy was provided and a very nice leek crumble. The traditional roast lamb dinner was enjoyed by my companion. Very nice beer too!
Good mix of locals and visitors including some very nice Harley riders.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday lunch - quick service, best crackling ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We popped in here for a quick Sunday lunch and had 3 Sunday lunches and one child's portion. The kids loved the crackling so much the land lady came out with more for them which was sweet of her. The chef here is called Graham who used to work in Graveley and the food is superb, very tasty. Not the usual boring Sunday roast. The service was quick and friendly. They have a beer garden and a small amount of parking at the back. Lovely thatched roof. We will be back again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Poacher also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Poacher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Poacher, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.