We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic little cinema” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cambridge Arts Picture House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cambridge Arts Picture House
38-39 St Andrew's Street, Cambridge CB2 3AR, England
08707 551 242
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 107 attractions in Cambridge
Type: Movie Theaters
Attraction Details
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic little cinema”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is just the most fantastic independent cinema. It shows an eclectic mix of of blockbusters, independent, art house and just about anything else. The cinema allocates seats when tickets are booked, so there is no bun fight when the doors open. The seats are comfortable and have cup holders and it is a common sight to see people with coffee, wine or beer watching the film. The place has such a nice feel, none of the screens is huge, so there is a slightly intimate feel to the place. They also have a very good cafe from where you can get a variety of drinks and light snacks (burgers and the like). This is the way I always remember cinemas to be before the big chains got hold of them. Go and enjoy the cinema again.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    30
    7
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice cinema and atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Normally go to the Cineworld because i always thought this was cramped and old. Turns out its very nice and you can take a pint into the film with you!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“One of the jewels in Cambridge's crown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

If you a film fan with a working brain, this is the only place in Cambridge that offers what you seek: cinema for grown-ups. (The animated features are god as well.) It can seem pricey, and the screens could be bigger, but it seems one must compromise to avoid the usual Hollywood product. Long may it reign!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“The only place I watch films!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This Arts Picturehouse (there are many others around the country) is centrally located and is in a stunning venue. As a member I probably visit about ten times a year at least, we have a meal and/or drink at the bar - lovely place to sit and relax and everyone is very friendly. Love it, you should come along!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A sophisticated evening out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Picturehouse is a wonderful place to meet friends for a pre-or post-show tasty snack, and a great film. The Theatres are wonderful - similar to old fashioned cinemas. All have good sized screens. There is usually at least one film I'd like to see. The snacks are varied and good quality. I hear the pancakes are great, though I have had savoury snacks myself.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cambridge Arts Picture House also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Cambridge Arts Picture House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cambridge Arts Picture House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cambridge Arts Picture House to your Saves list