We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chinese food in the centre of Cambridge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jinling Noodle Bar

Jinling Noodle Bar
Peas Hill, Cambridge, England
3333333333333
Improve this listing
Ranked #234 of 510 Restaurants in Cambridge
Cuisines: Chinese
Description: very centrally placed, Chinese-run noodle bar, cheap and simple but fresh food and good value, especially for students!
Restaurant details
Description: very centrally placed, Chinese-run noodle bar, cheap and simple but fresh food and good value, especially for students!
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Chinese food in the centre of Cambridge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

If you fancy Chinese food and if you happen to be in the city centre (close to Market Square) of Cambridge then Jinling Noodle bar might be your choice. The location is not obvious to tourist as it is located behind the Guildhall of Cambridge (opposite of Jamie's Italian). The food is not bad which generous portion. It can get busy at peak hours especially in the weekends. A tip is to go there earlier to avoid the crowd.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Soham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“My picky eater kids loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

To appease the hungry beasts that my children were going to turn into, we decided to have lunch with my sister, her children and my kids. We were a party of 6 and luckily found seating right away. There were a lot of Asian diners which to me is a good sign. Portions were good. We had the crispy noodles with chicken and veggies. Tasty. Then my son had the noodle soup he polished it off. Toilets could certainly be improved. We will go back to try other dishes. A hole in the wall not fancy. Just the way we like it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good portions and fair quality - popular with visiting Chinese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Food here is fine as far is it goes, although the menu is fairly predictable. Decent value makes it popular with locals and visitors, and it does seme to attract Chinese groups, which is always a good sign.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Decent noodles for cheap prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

I really only go here for the beef noodle bowl. Its a ton of noodles and beef with a pretty hearty (and rich) soup base. I've also gotten the pork with preserved vegetables dish, but they dont do nearly as good of a job with it.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tasteless and grubby”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

After looking at Tripadvisor reviews we thought we would give it a try. While inexpensive, the food was generally tasteless, I would have preferred to have spent a bit more for some more flavour. And if the state of the gents toilet was any indication of the cleanliness of the kitchen...

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jinling Noodle Bar also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Jinling Noodle Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jinling Noodle Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.