We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit of an institution, lovely in good weather” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Orchard Tea Garden

The Orchard Tea Garden
Mill Way | Grantchester, Cambridge CB3 9ND, England
01223 551125
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 187 things to do in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Dining
Attraction details
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Bit of an institution, lovely in good weather”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Excellent half day from Cambridge, an hour's walk each way. Or be brave and punt up and down but allow a couple of hours unless you are experienced!
We visited on a beautiful early spring day and it was most pleasant to sit out in the garden to enjoy our tea and scone.
The location and the setting are what make it such a good spot. However, this makes them somewhat complacent: prices are not cheap, they could do with some proper coffee and the tea pots are stingy. Hence not 5 stars.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    108
    37
    17
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nothing left???”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were on a weekend visit to Cabridge. We were told this place was a must. We drove all the way here -queued for 10 mins to get in and then on entering it is a self service buffet style. I was baffled by this as i had wanted to ask about their lunch menu too but there was no staff avaialbel at the front. So, i took a scone - noticed there were no jams. Went to the chiller part, there was no clotted cream. Hmmmm, scone with no jam or clotted cream? I heard someody ask about the cream. And yes at 2.30 on a Sunday afternoon, they had no clotted cream left. Whipped double cream was being prepared to scoop into ramekins. Ridiculous? And no strawberry or raspberry jams?? Only apricot or honey and a few blackcurrant. I'm old fashioned - i like a red berried jam with my scone. We decided the system and the the fact they had no jam or proper cream wasn't worth staying. We decided to turn back and go out the door letting the unfortunate people who would wait for 15 - 20 mins that there was no cream or jam. I've heard it's gorgeous but we didn't find out. It failed on the 1st hurdle for us.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We came here before a walk into Cambridge through the Meadows expecting something special. We were very disappointed. The service was perfunctory and quite unwelcoming. The food quite ordinary. No sign of the famous scones. It could be so much better but I wonder of it is a bit complacent.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Nice spot to be able to cycle too for afternoon tea sitting in the orchard. Not sure how they can justify the costs however. Still the cakes are great.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Traditional Boxing Day destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The Orchard in Grantchester is one of my family's Christmas-time traditions. A Boxing Day walk along Grantchester meadows with a hearty scone, jam and cream tea waiting at the end of it. The scones are particularly good, generous in size and baked very well.

Trips in the summer are also a treat, given the outdoor seating in the orchard itself. Plenty of wasps about at the height of summer so do be aware of unwanted attention to your strawberry jam!

A delightful spot - it just wouldn't be Christmas without it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Orchard Tea Garden also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Orchard Tea Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Orchard Tea Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.