We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden & Dahlias” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anglesey Abbey

Anglesey Abbey
Lode, Cambridge CB5 9EJ, England
01223-811200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 100 Attractions in Cambridge
Type: Architectural Buildings, Historic Sites, Gardens, Cultural
Activities: Viewing foliage
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic mansion features a unique collection of painted views of Windsor, spanning a 350-year period, and a 20th-century garden designed on the grounds of an Augustinian priory.
Hythe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Garden & Dahlias”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Superb walks around the garden and when the dahlias are in bloom, the entire place is chock full. On a damp day there is cover under the trees and the café!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    395
    187
    31
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ely, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice gardens”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We spent a nice afternoon here but something seemed lacking. Perhaps a large Abbey to look around would have been nice considering the name.....

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lovely morning visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Lovely gardens, however I think we were spoilt by Stowe Gardens the day before.... The best part for us was the Lode Mill, where even our 23 month old was given the chance to grind some flour & get a gold medal!!! Cafe was lovely!!!!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My friend and I had a lovely lunch of soup and a herby scone with juice, followed by tea and cakes. The staff were very friendly and efficient and the cafe was reasonably priced. We paid about £20 in total. my friends coffee arrived with a beautiful feather design on top - well done to the young man for going to so much effort.
the gardens were very wet and muddy but we still had a great time and got lots of ideas for outdoor activities with children. definitely worth taking young children to, also worth a trip for nursery and reception aged children.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great for all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We have visited Anglesey Abbey at various times of the year - the winter garden is a delight at a time of year when there are not many good gardens around. We went to the Winter Lights as a couple in 2012 and loved it so much that we came again with three generations in 2013. Timed tickets were a great improvement. Everyone in our party really enjoyed the evening - after saying it would take an hour, it took us over two hours to see everything, including watching the shadow theatre. The children especially enjoyed taking part in the shadow theatre and having a go with the lit-up hula hoops. There were plenty of toilet facilities available, those that we visited were very clean. We finished the evening with hot chocolate in the friendly café - we were pleased to find that 10 drinks came to under £20. The chairs in the café are very special, with plant material set in resin. Children now all very keen to come back in daylight and explore some more.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anglesey Abbey also viewed

 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Anglesey Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anglesey Abbey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.