We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent choice - if you can afford it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Cambridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Cambridge to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Cambridge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lakeview Bridge Road | Impington, Cambridge CB24 9PH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Cambridge
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“An excellent choice - if you can afford it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Certainly not among the cheaper hotels in Cambridge, but undoubtedly amongst the best in terms of service and facilities. I am pleased to say that I wasn't paying the bill, but additional facilities and first-class service come as part of the package.
The rooms can be quite a long walk from the reception - the only drawback to the low profile design of the buildings.
The food was excellent and the breakfasts superb. There are a lot of staff available at all times, and they are all exceptionally helpful. I rate this as one of the best managed hotels I have come across - but there is a premium price to pay.
The location is good for the Science Park (though beware the traffic jams in the morning), but difficult for central Cambridge. Oh - and SatNav may point you to the alternative Holiday Inn in Cambridge!

Room Tip: Expect to walk quite a way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your detailed and positive review I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. All of our reviews are shared with the team and they will be delighted to receive your comments. These will make a great impact upon their job satisfaction.
I hope it will not be too long until we can welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Cambridge again in the future.

kind regards
Robin Hutton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    251
    130
    37
    11
See reviews for
111
176
28
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

After a nightmare journey taking 4 hours instead of the planned 1 and a half we arrived at this delightful hotel on the outskirts of Cambridge.
The building itself is very large and has the look of a modernised barn with a large car park.
On entering and after a short wait I was greeted at reception, my details found and was pleased to see I had been upgraded. All of a sudden the journey did not seem so bad.
Whilst waiting to be served i had asked my wife to get a drink from the bar for us but after the time it took to be served and to be given all the information I found my wife in the bar, without drinks as no one had come to serve, what a shame.
There was a bit of a trek to the room ans no lift to the upper floor. The room was a good size with a clean and well equipped bathroom. The television was flat screen and there was complimentary water and chocolate. The bed was a good size and very comfortable.
The next morning we went to breakfast at about 8.30 and had to queue for a table for about 7 minutes. It was apparent that everyone else had been for breakfast just before us! Breakfast was very tasty with a good variety.
Overall we enjoyed this stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and your recommendation. I am sorry that you had less than satifactory service at the bar, we pride ourselves on the service we offer and I shall look into why we did not meet our usual high standards upon this occasion. Your feedback is very much appreciated.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cambridge again in the future.

kind regards
Robin Hutton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I actually could not find fault with this hotel at all!
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Food was delicious, there was a buffet on the Friday & Saturday we stayed.
Rooms were quiet and clean.
There was coffee in the lobby available free of charge
Fabulous gym , pool & hot tub.
Plenty of parking.
Free wifi for platinum members
Use of computer in lobby.
I will definitely stay again soon
Wonderful experience
Thanks to all the staff who made our weekend a great one!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest

I was delighted to read your review and thank you for your continued loyalty and recommendation. All of our reviews are shared with the team and they will be delighted to receive your comments. These will make a great impact upon their job satisfaction. I hope it will not be too long until we can welcome you back to the hotel and continue to deliver such high standards.

Kind regards
Robin Hutton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

stayed for 1 night for a business trip visiting a local supplier. nice friendly staff clean rooms, small health club and lovely surroundings with a good breakfast!!worth staying for easy access to cambridge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie O, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay, I am pleased you found the bedrooms clean and our staff to be friendly.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cambridge in the future.

kind regards
Daniel Sharpe
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I had my Civil Partnership here and was very pleased with the care and attention that all the relevant staff took to make our day work like clock-work.

The hotel is not a county manor or anything like that but it works well as a blank canvas for your own special touches!

The rooms were perfectly cleaned and well maintained. The food was good and plentiful. I would mention the drinks though-wow-hugely expensive! I don't think there was any alcohol for under £5. A gin and tonic was £8!! The young lady at bar even said she felt bad taking that sort of money for 25ml of booze and a bit of fizz! But I guess they've got you cornered...

Bar prices aside, it's a good hotel and treated us well on our big day. Special mention to Joy- who co-ordinated before the day and Lucasz who ran the show like clockwork on the day!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie O, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your great review and I am very pleased that you had an enjoyable Wedding day here. All our reviews are shared with the team and they will be delighted to receive your comments especially Joy and Lucasz.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cambridge again in the future.

kind regards
Daniel Sharpe
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

A sprawling 2-storey hotel in a suburban business park, it is not particularly convenient for central Cambridge. Room and breakfast was ok (breakfast was very short-staffed on my visit). Foosteps in the room above were very audible. On the plus side, there is a gym, a pool almost long enough for length swimming (15m), and a nice kiddies' play area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie O, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, guest feedback is a vital part of our business and your comments will be used in a constructive manner.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cambridge in the future.

kind regards
Daniel Sharpe
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here whilst at a conference, was fine and as expected from Holiday Inn. Food was okay but pricey. No free WiFi in rooms - this was pricey too! Gym and pool facilities looked good/clean. Friendly/helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie O, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and I am pleased that our staff were friendly. With reference to our Wifi charges it is now free to our IHG Platinum and Gold rewards members, with further offer in the future.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cambridge in the future.

kind regards
Daniel Sharpe
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cambridge

Address: Lakeview Bridge Road | Impington, Cambridge CB24 9PH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cambridge 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Cambridge hotel has a great location on the A14, J32 and just 2 1/2 miles from Cambridge city centre and it is an excellent base for visiting local attractions. The hotel offers a range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. Facilities include 161 fully air-conditioned bedrooms, High Speed Internet Access in all bedrooms and public areas, conference and banqueting facilities for up to 120 people plus Spirit Health and Leisure Club. The hotel has a state of the art Conference Centre boasting 9 purpose built meeting rooms that cater for all requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings and conferences to weddings and dinner dances. The hotel has 200 free car parking spaces. The Leisure Club offers a gym, indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and is complimented by two Beauty Treatment Rooms (advance booking required). Both accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel. The Holiday Inn Cambridge hotel provides an ideal base for visiting local attractions including the colleges of Cambridge University, Duxford Air Museum, Newmarket and Ely Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Cambridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.