We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can I canoe you down the river?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scudamore's Punting Company

Scudamore's Punting Company
Granta Place | Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RS, England
+44 1223 359750
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #5 of 53 activities in Cambridge
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Founded in the early 1900s, we are Cambridge's oldest and friendliest punting company. We introduced pleasure punting to Cambridge and have hired boats along the famous College Backs and on the scenic route towards Grantchester village. We became the first punting company in Cambridge to offer a chauffeured tour of the College Backs. Our VAQAS award-winning College Backs Tour offers the ideal introduction to Cambridge's inspiring history. Discover how the city has evolved from medieval market town to world-class centre for education whilst enjoying spectacular views from the river.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Hazel Village
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Can I canoe you down the river?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Take a guided trip in a Scudamore punt. Ask after Adriana - she's the best! Infinitely patient with all the clots that kept bumping into us, a skilled punter, and supremely knowledgeable - she really brings the place to life, as opposed to just spouting parrot-fashion. Incidentally, the repeated warnings to keep your fingers and elbows inside the punt are not to be taken lightly.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    51
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“You haven't seen Cambridge if you didn't punt on the Cam.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

If you have only a few hours to spend in Cambridge, this is the one thing that you must see/do --- tour the Cam on a punt (the wooden boat powered and driven by a guy standing with a pole).

From the location near Mill Lane, one can punt all the way down to the other end and see all the most famous colleges: Queen's, King's, Trinity, St. John's... from the most scenic angles.

It would be best to do it on a sunny summer late (say after 5pm when there are not so many people) afternoon, bring a picnic and a bottle of wine with you. Can't say there are a lot of things more British than that. It can be quite chilly if it is not sunny.

It will be the best (and much cheaper) if you do it yourself. It is great fun, it will take some time to learn. If you know some one who is a member of some Cambridge colleges, they can hire the punt for you, really cheaply (a few pounds / hour) or even for free. If you don't know anyone, hire a commercial one. If you have a group, then it is not very expensive. Otherwise, you pay per person for a professional punter who also gives you oral presentation on the way.

If you are punting and are not an expert, you will need 2 hours to punt to the other end and back in a leisure pace. The guy who punt will get quite wet because the water on the pole will get down the arm. In my opinion, this is the best way and the most memorable way to enjoy Cambridge.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Must Do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

If you're in Cambridge you HAVE to go punting!

Great fun!!
We went for my birthday on a cold day in December. We had wrapped up & taken with us a flask of mulled wine. The punt company provided blankets & hot water bottles. The guide was friendly & polite. As it was just us two in the punt (Too cold for anybody sensible to want to go - the punts carry more & it leaves once it's full unless you pay to have 'your' punt) so he offered us a detailed guide, brief guide or nothing at all if we wished to just be chauffeured along the backs. We had the detailed guide, full of interesting details, famous people & the college's history. Very cold & windy day & the guide did really well steering the punt into the wind. We drank mulled wine while sat under blankets. Really enjoyed this.
We had hired a punt out ourselves, earlier in the year, and punted to Granchester which was really great fun also.

If you're in Cambridge you HAVE to go punting!!!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“The very best way to see Cambridge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

It isn't warm in the autumn and winter, but it is a fun and relaxing way to see Cambridge, at a pace which suits the city. Take a chauffered (or self drive!!) punt and enjoy the Backs. Lovely on a summer evening - but a little like a motorway, punting in the colder weather has the advantage of more peace and better photos.
Try yourself if you're brave or adventurous, or hire a chauffered punt with friendly knowledgable guides.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Punting is fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We took a guided punt trip with Scudamore and it was thoroughly enjoyable. The punter was knowledgeable (a prospective postgrad student) and interesting, and the scenery, the river, and the buildings on either side are magical.
At £10 per person we found it to be good value.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scudamore's Punting Company also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Scudamore's Punting Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scudamore's Punting Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Scudamore's Punting Company to your Saves list