We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds and architecture” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pembroke College

Pembroke College
Trumpington Street, Cambridge CB2 1RF, England
44 1223 338100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 100 Attractions in Cambridge
Type: Educational Sites, Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 1347, this is the third oldest of the Cambridge colleges, which features a chapel that was the debut commission of architect Christopher Wren in 1665.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds and architecture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

After a long day looking at colleges I persuaded my daughter to look at Pembroke and she fell in love with it immediately. She is now a student there! It feels like a big hug. The chapel is Wren and it costs nothing to have a meander around. I have eaten at the college a few times and it is rather variable. The cafe has reasonably priced drinks.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Market Bosworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Central location - beautiful quad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Easy to wander in - no fee. Beautiful architecture and gardens to spend a while in.
There is a cafe which looks to sell great food at a reasonable price but we poked our head in and everyone looked an incumbent student so we felt a bit out of place.
Enjoy

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Small, central, lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

One of the oldest and smallest colleges in Cambridge. Venture in and you will find yourself in a wonderful courtyard.
It is also probably the one offering the best food, in terms of variety and quality, among all the Cambridge colleges. Definitely worth trying squeeze in the dining room for a quick lunch together with lots of students.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pembroke College - lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Free entrance - not so for many other Colleges. This was the third oldest College in the centre of Cambridge, founded in 1347, and has it's own Chapel. Very beautiful grounds, open courts and pretty gardens, varied architecture styles and the statue of Pitt the younger. We had the opportunity to wander on our own, or to listen to a guide. Very beautiful and a lovely find.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Impressive, clean.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Fortunately , we caught the two open days for visiting colleges in Cambridge(5 Th. and 6 Th. of july)
Lots of children with parents or just by themselves were visiting this college and the expression on their faces was similar : excitement. We visited even a student room (012, grown floor, building "O") or the porters' lodge. There is a chapel and a large library to visit inside.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pembroke College also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Pembroke College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pembroke College, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.