We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical place of art and sculpture” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kettle's Yard House and Gallery

Kettle's Yard House and Gallery
Castle Street, Cambridge CB3 0AQ, England
01223 748100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 100 Attractions in Cambridge
Type: Art Galleries, Historic Sites, Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kettle’s Yard is a house with a permanent collection of early twentieth century works of art and a gallery presenting a changing programme of contemporary and modern art exhibitions. There is a lively programme of events including music and workshops.
Southwold
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A magical place of art and sculpture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Loved the spirit of place.The wonderful 20th century art and sculpture lifts the soul. I loved that you can sit in the chairs and spend time looking at the art work. The stewards were helpful low key. Will be going back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    12
    5
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Get a taste of artsy living”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Such a great energy in this place. The space, the art, the decorations are all contributing to the energy of this hidden gem in Cambridge.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Am a frequent visitor to Kettles Yard and knew the two sisters who used to own it. A beautiful contribution to viewing the arts and getting to know various styles. Quite enlightening even after all these years. A must to visit when in Cambridge.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Check times”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We'd checked times online and planned our visit to end at Kettles Yard as it didn't open until 2p.m. We knew the Gallery wasn't fully open. We looked at what there was in the gallery and proceeded to the house to find it closed; the opening hours were different to those printed off the internet the day before our visit. The young lady in the Church, however was so friendly and helpful explaing about the exhibit in there it made up for the disappointment.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is the most beautiful, intriguing, peaceful house and museum I have ever visited. The artwork is given equal importance to the natural works of art - the simplicity of a pebble, the intricacies of a shell. I was absolutely inspired. The guides encourage you to sit on the chairs and take in the atmosphere of the house, which is such a refreshing change. There is such a strong feeling of who the Ede's were (the owners) that you leave feeling like you have made their acquaintance! And what intriguing, lovely people they must've been. A definite must see, and astonishingly entrance is free.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kettle's Yard House and Gallery also viewed

 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Kettle's Yard House and Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kettle's Yard House and Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.