We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cambridge and County Folk Museum

Cambridge and County Folk Museum
2-3 Castle Street, Cambridge CB3 0AQ, England
44 1223 355159
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 100 Attractions in Cambridge
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Relics and artifacts such as Victorian child's embroidery, an early sewing machine and a workbasket are examples of the bygones housed in this former coaching inn.
staffordshire united kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What a lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We visited the museum from the city sight bus stop, so much to see and lots of hands on, staff were very friendly and helpful, the tea room was lovely and after our visit we hopped back on the bus and continued our tour of Cambridge. Suitable for children

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Essex, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming little museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Make a visit to this nice little museum and you won't be disappointed. Housed in an old coaching inn with lots of social history and something for everyone. The building itself, pub curiosities, kitchen items, art and crafts, trade items, and toys. Well worth a couple of hours and good value for money -- adults £3.50 at the time of writing, with concession and children's tickets also available.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“After Lunch on Saturday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

my friend Nancy and I went to the Cambridge Folk Museum and found it was a delightful way to spend an hour. The museum collection provides a wonderful insight into the lives of the people of Cambridge and nearby.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheringham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Quirky and quaint.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

It has something to interest everyone whatever the age and it reflects the town rather than the colleges.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanur, Indonesia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very well presented and well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This museum gives people a good idea about the social history and how people used to live before us.
An interesting selection of displays and I would certainly recommend any visitor or indeed residents not to miss this interesting museum.
I will certainly return to learn more'

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cambridge and County Folk Museum also viewed

 

Been to Cambridge and County Folk Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cambridge and County Folk Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.