We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room of choice if you fancy a cold shower” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Stationroomz

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cambridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stationroomz
Save
You added Stationroomz to your Saves list
Station Road, Cambridge CB1 2TZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 34 Hotels in Cambridge
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Room of choice if you fancy a cold shower”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed here for one night. The location was excellent. Just 30 sec walk from the train station.

We checked in at 11pm. We were offered a basement room. At a night of 4 degrees Celsius, we were surprised to find that the shower ran out of hot water! So we waited until the morning, fortunately hot water lasted for 5 minutes in the morning. So taking shower in this hotel has got to be quick!

The door was paper thin. We could hear all the noise from the outside.

Wifi is weak. You can only get signal at the dining room and it is inconsistent too.

Room Tip: Basement room isn't nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    14
    25
    13
    45
See reviews for
6
33
20
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I have to say I did not know that Cambridge Rail Station was so far out of the City -this does not help the hotel.
Took a while to check in as there was a stag party in front of me but the receptionsist was very good and helpful. Unfortunately there is very limited room to park and so had to pay to park i the station car park -which you can only do by phone.
The double rooms are a little dingy being in the basement and so are also a little damp, the wife was not impressed.
There is very little to do nearby, the station seems to be in the seedy part of Cambridge.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Right opposite the station, so a good position. Staff were friendly. The room was cabin style, small but I wasn't holding a party! Bunk beds which were comfortable and clean. Towels and soap, tea and coffee facilities, TV. A slow wifi signal could be accessed from the lobby - fine for checking emails or light browsing for a bar or venue.

Biggest let down was the shower (room 15). It did not fit onto the riser and so you had to hold it. More water poured out the back of the shower head than out of the shower rose. Not great.

Breakfast was OK. Tea and coffee. Orange juice. Fresh croissant. Jam. Cheese or ham rolls. Not high cuisine but satisfactory. It did feel very youth hostel but unfortunately didn't have the YHA prices. I was quite happy with my stay... but it did seem very pricey.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I stayed here two nights with my husband. Accommodation in Cambridge was tight, and this was the cheapest without going to a hostel. We had bunk beds on the top floor.
Rooms were small - as per previous reviews, space is at a premium, there was definitely some juggling with bags. En-suite shower and toilet were small, but adequate and clean! Bunk beds were sturdy and mattresses were comfy.
Had minimal contact with staff, but all seemed pleasant and friendly.
Breakfast was good - cereal, fruit, coffee, toast, pastries and bread with ham or cheese. Wifi was restricted to the breakfast room, but there was a sign saying they were upgrading the wifi in the near future.
As far as location to the city centre is concerned, we didn't have any troubles walking into town - in fact it was a pleasant walk and not too far in my opinion.
Accepting that this is budget accommodation, the biggest draw-back was the noise. Although this was right near the train station, we didn't hear any train noise, but instead we were right next to the bike racks and there was a loud metallic scraping noise every morning that woke us up - very early.
Overall I found this to be convenient basic accommodation, clean but noisy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are dirty, smelly, hot, cramped and poor value even for the 'cheap' price. Cityroomz should be paying people to stay here, not billing them!

The only two plus points are the location and the continental breakfast was surprisingly ok. Although on the location front, it's important to remember it's near the station and therefore very noisy at all hours! Think you'd need to be a very heavy sleeper to have a good nights rest here!

The 'hotel' would be better off just admitting it's a cheap hostel and I think the reviews would improve.

I would never stay here again. Recommend to avoid.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We paid £69.50 for 1 night - so we were expecting a clean but basic hotel room. However we only got what I can describe as a room in a hostel. Tiny room - you couldn't even walk around 1 side of the bed! TV bracket was broken. Very scruffy hotel altogether, inside and out!!. We thought that maybe breakfast would be the saviour. No such luck - We had a choice of ham or cheese rolls (uncovered and looked like they had been left out since 7.30am - we went for breakfast at 9), Cereal or croissants (came straight out of a packet, not even warmed through). A very small room to eat in with a breakfast bar around the edge with rickety old stools. If I'd have paid around £30 - £40 for the night I would have found the hotel just about acceptable but nearly £70 - we were thoroughly ripped off!!!

Room Tip: Stay at another Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The Cityroomz should be advertised for young backpackers in need of a 1 night stay. The room we had was in the basement, no window, a door that looked like it had been jimmied at some point, a bathroom door that was very difficult to close, the same with the shower door and a musty smell throughout. The bed was OK but there was nowhere to put your suitcase. The free WiFi was only available in the breakfast room. The only good things are the closeness to the train station and the coffee. I would not recommend this place to anyone over the age of 20.

Room Tip: Nothing good other than being across the street from the train station
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stationroomz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stationroomz

Address: Station Road, Cambridge CB1 2TZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 34 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stationroomz is situated immediately outside Cambridge Railway Station, which is an easy 10 - 15 minute walk to all of the city centre attractions. We have 24 compact, but well equipped rooms with TV, Tea & Coffee.We offer, included in our rates, a light breakfast with baguettes, croissants, preserves, cereals, fruit juice and beverages, served in our breakfast room from 7.30 am until 9.30.Our single and twin rooms have comfortable cabin style beds.We do not have a bar or restaurant, but there are many to choose from in the area. There is plenty of car parking available at the railway station and we have 3 dedicated spaces for our hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cityroomz Hotel Cambridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stationroomz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.