We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay was great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Regent Hotel to your Saves list
Regent Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41 Regent Street, Cambridge CB2 1AB, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 12.5%
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Our stay was great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

We found the hotel clean and the location was very convenient. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Yes at night it was a bit noisy but not terrible.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    120
    28
    7
    4
See reviews for
34
108
24
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

Very convenient location, short walk from intercity bus station, walkable to train; easy walk to downtown and all the sights. All service was helpful and friendly. Room and bathroom were very clean, comfortable and spacious. Included breakfast, which was fine.

A problem for some might be that it is on a busy street with a number of pubs. Things can get very loud and continue very late - though it did not bother us much. we will likely be back to Cambridge and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

I must endorse most of what "stressedparent" from Exeter said. We stayed on Mon/Tues 29/30 June just after their stay. The air conditioning was repaired for the second night but on the Monday night the row from the park overlooked by the back rooms was not very nice. For this reason alone we would not stay again or advise any of our friends.

We thought the price was over the top, but it is in the middle of Cambridge. Not being a fan of continental breakfast I can only say the staff were pleasant.

The weather was sunny, the beer and punting expensive, but the colleges apart from Kings were very affable. Top marks too, to the Wetherspoons.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

I looked around this hotel and read reviews before booking. On seeing the bedrooms it was obvious that the Executive rooms were way better value than standard and that a room facing Parkers Piece was also better. We had a beautiful "executive" room with air conditioning (vital for weather at the time) the bed was extremely comfortable and room and bathroom superbly clean.
Some noise from the Park due to very warm weather, but we could have windows shut since there was air-con.
Very helpful staff at the desk and serving breakfast.
Extremely convenient place to stay for college events.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

The hotel is very nice in terms of rooms, but we did not have a particularly pleasant stay, for a number of reasons. First, the parking in the area is very limited, you can park at the rear of the hotel between 8 pm and 8.30 am, outside that time you need to go to a multistory car park. We did get parked, but then had to get up early to move the car!

The weather was warm during our stay and the rooms upstairs are unbearably hot, though there is an electric fan provided. We couldn't really bear to spend much time in the room at all, it was so uncomfortably hot. The bathroom is lovely, excellent shower etc. The breakfast is a generous continental, there was fruit, ham, cheese, yoghurts, a range of pastries and rolls. Toast available if you prefer. Really no complaints on that front, and the staff were all very friendly and helpful.

You may have heard that the rooms at the front are noisy, we had one at the back, overlooking the park. Unfortunately, at the weekends, said park is a magnet for youngsters who gather there after the nearby pubs and clubs have shut. There are benches around the edge of the park, and one of these was right under our window, which we had to throw wide open because of the heat! There was riotous noise going on for hours, they were still partying in the park at 3.30 am. Perhaps this is only a problem in very hot weather, but be warned!

Overall, the hotel was good, but we didn't feel it warranted over a hundred pounds for a room, and next time I would book a bed and breakfast in a quieter part of town, and use my cash to pay for taxis into the centre!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

The rooms were large, very nicely furnished and clean as were the bathrooms. It was reasonably priced for the choices available. The room was on the front, but I didn't think the traffic noise was bad. Breakfast was o.k. but what you would expect for something included in the room. Overall, very impressive and would highly recommend as a good bet.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Suffolk
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

Second stay at the Regent. Very friendly, efficient and helpful staff. The hotel and room was spotlessly clean.

Hotel is perfectly located and is a short walk to the City and a 15 to 20 minute walk from the station.

We had a room overlooking the road. As someone who used to live near a busy road the traffic doesn't bother me. However, it is a busy City with, obviously, a high population of students which equals lots of late night merriment!! It would be recommended to bring earplugs if you are early to bed or a light sleeper !

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Hotel

Address: 41 Regent Street, Cambridge CB2 1AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Regent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine listed building is situated in the heart of Cambridge. As a privately owned hotel we take pride in offering a personal, efficient and competitive service at all times. The Regent Hotel is completely non-smoking and all of the 22 bedrooms are fully air conditioned for your comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, T4B and Odigeo so you can book your Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Cambridge
Regent Cambridge
Cambridge Regent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regent Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.