We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a short stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Regent Hotel to your Saves list
Regent Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41 Regent Street, Cambridge CB2 1AB, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 12.5%
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fine for a short stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed for one night as I was visiting Cambridge on business. The hotel is centrally located, and is well maintained. The place does have more of a guest house feel about it - no restaurant (although it's situated close to a number of restaurants, so not a problem). Breakfast was perfectly adequate. Tea/coffee facilities in each room (Fair Trade products including biscuits - a nice touch). Good shower in the bathroom. My room overlooked the park (which I understand can be very noisy) but I had a sound sleep. The only noise can be from the adjoining room - the sound of the shower was noisier than I've experienced elsewhere, but that's probably down to the thickness of the walls / soundproofing. Staff were very friendly. Quite expensive for what you get - but Cambridge is laughable when it comes to hotel prices. Too basic, for me, for a longer stay - but one or two nights would be fine.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    120
    28
    7
    4
See reviews for
34
108
24
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Since we would attend a concert at the Corn Exchange and did not want to drive after the concert we opted for the Regent Hotel and did not regret it. The hotel is centrally located, really close to everything. We could walk to restaurants, the concert hall and most of Cambridge's sights.

The hotel is small and the rooms are even smaller, at least if a small room is what you have booked. However, the room itself was ok, quite nicely furnished, just the bed is really on the small side (130cm). The bathroom is as tiny as the room, barely room for one person. Everything was very clean. Staff was friendly, but not very knowledgeable when we asked for restaurant recommendations.

Continental breakfast was good.

There are no parking spots to be found anywhere near the hotel. The nearest parking garages are about 5 to 10 minutes walking distance.

We liked the hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main street might get very loud during the night. Ask for a room facing the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mature couple
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I got an electric shock from the hairdryer and on closer examination there were bare wires which must have touched my wrist - resulting in the hairdryer exploding leaving me with a large sooty mark and quite shaken. Surprised such a thing could happen in this day and age of Health & Safety.
This incident happened about 7.30pm on Saturday evening - the receptionist was very good but the duty manager could only be contacted by phone. As this hotel promotes itself as being a privately run hotel, owned by the same family since 1950, I was somewhat disappointed that the owner did not make the effort to contact me

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We were returning for a college reunion and twin bedded rooms are hard to come by in Cambridge, so I booked this 5 months in advance. I was very glad I did, as the hotel sold out!
We stayed in room 208, on the second floor at the front of the building. There is a lift. I was a little worried that being on a main road it would get noisy. But the double-glazing is excellent. The room itself is quite compact but has everything you need, with tea making facilities, a TV, alarm clock, hairdryer and dressing table. The bathroom had a great shower. The décor is a bit dated, but everything is clean. The only real problem was the room being really warm, even though we'd turned off the heating. It was very mild for October, but I wouldn't expect to have to turn on air-conditioning to cool down!

The location is great. For anyone who knows Cambridge it's opposite Downing College - this did draw some blank looks from fellow grads - but when I said 'just along from Pizza Hut' that seemed to do the trick! It's only a 10 - 15 minute walk to the station, and is really convenient for the town centre too - about 5 minutes. The breakfast room overlooks the greenery of Parker's Piece at the back.

The real plus was the staff who couldn't have been more helpful, from the receptionist to the night porter. Nothing was too much trouble and they were genuinely friendly. When I rang ahead to ask about soya milk and gluten-free options for breakfast, they were very accommodating. They even picked some decent brands too! Much appreciated, as was storing our luggage after checkout so we could do some exploring before our train.

All four of us commented that we'd definitely file away The Regent as a place to stay in Cambridge.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

After having studied in Cambridge for a semester years ago, I always have to go back at least once a year. The Regent is then our home. We have stayed here many times now, always for a couple of days sometimes also with our parents.
We love the location. It is in the centre, and you easily walk to Cambridge's shopping area, the beautiful colleges and the Cam. It is also next to Parker's Piece where the bus from National Express from London Stansted (and other airports)stops. Perfect.
It is clean. The cheapest rooms are a tad bit small, but big enough to spend the night and relax before going out again etc.
Only thing to improve is breakfast. Although sufficient to fill your stomach, it is not something to really look forward to. When we stay at the Regent for a couple of nights we tend to have breakfast somewhere else on one of the mornings. They have some fruit, bread (jam and cheese),toast, a pastry or two and cereals but it is not very good quality. Not bad, just not so good you think ' yay, hotel breakfast!' when you wake up :)
However, I would recommend this hotel as it is good value for money especially compared to other hotels in Cambridge where we/ our friends had to stay when the Regent was fully booked.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We completed our second stay at the Regent Hotel in late August 2013. We chose to stay at this hotel a second time after a fabulous first visit in August 2007. We find this hotel to be extremely convenient to both the train station as well as the center of Cambridge and tons of shops & restaurants. It is only a .8 mile or so walk to and from the train station, which is very convenient. It is a 10 minute walk, at most, the the fun parts of Cambridge and the many colleges. Parker's Piece is a great park located directly behind the hotel. It was fun to watch all of the activity going on in the park each day. A very peaceful place indeed.

The hotel itself is small but clean. We booked the small double room that is indeed small! There is very little room to walk past the foot of the bed and the bathroom is very small as well. However, we did not come to Cambridge to hang out in the room so it really didn't matter to us. We like the charm of the hotel as well as the nicely appointed rooms. We had a nice coffee / tea service in the room as well as a large desk. The room was clean and more than met our needs.

The hotel has free wifi but it was spotty at best in our room. We had better service down in the lobby / breakfast area.

The complimentary breakfast was simple but lovely. We had no problem finding items that we would enjoy (cold cuts, cereal, fruit, pastries, etc.). We never had a problem getting a table or running out of food. The breakfast area also doubles as the hotel bar during the evening. The front desk staff also services the bar. The bar had a decent selection of wine, which was greatly appreciated.

We will definitely stay at this hotel again during a future visit to Cambridge.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The Regent is a good choice if you want to be near most of the colleges, the main shops and the river. There is no daytime parking at the hotel, so we dropped our cases at the hotel and then I parked for free near Grange Road (which required a 15-minute walk from the parked car to the hotel). Buses from the railway station go past the front door frequently.

Breakfast is continental and reasonable. The wifi reception was intermittent. Our "executive" room was large, comfortable, well-equipped and quiet, and overlooked the large park.

Will be delighted to return if my expenses are paid again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Hotel

Address: 41 Regent Street, Cambridge CB2 1AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Regent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine listed building is situated in the heart of Cambridge. As a privately owned hotel we take pride in offering a personal, efficient and competitive service at all times. The Regent Hotel is completely non-smoking and all of the 22 bedrooms are fully air conditioned for your comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, T4B and Odigeo so you can book your Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Cambridge
Regent Cambridge
Cambridge Regent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regent Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.