We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, fantastic location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Regent Hotel

Save Saved
You added Regent Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Regent Hotel
41 Regent Street, Cambridge CB2 1AB, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
CLICK HERE TO Save up 15%
Ranked #5 of 34 hotels in Cambridge
UK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, fantastic location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, very elegant. The location is really fantastic, right in the heart of Cambridge. It is not cheap, but by Cambridge prices, excellent value. This really deserves to be right at the top of your list for places to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    97
    24
    5
    4
See reviews for
26
83
22
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

A good hotel about ten minutes walk from King's College Chapel etc in Cambridge.
As everyone has said, good location next to the park known as "Parker's Piece," with a view of the park from the breakfast room. The booking confirmation reminds you, as is right, that the breakfast (included in the room price) is only continental, but for a continental breakfast it is excellent. The staff make your hot drink to order, and also make you toast if you want. There's a wide array of breads, patisserie, jams, yogurts, fresh fruit, juices and more.

The (king bed) room was very comfortable--and ours had a wardrobe, unlike the room a previous reviewer mentions--and the bathroom was spacious. There was air conditioning--not usually a concern in England! But appreciated during the hot weather when we were there. The free wifi worked, the bed was comfortable, there was a kettle and the makings for tea or instant coffee.

Most important, the staff were efficient, friendly, and kind. Phone calls were well handled, confirmation letters had a personal touch, and everyone at reception and at breakfast, once we arrived, was kind and helpful.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Family owned hotel with very friendly staff, clean rooms and a very beautiful view from the breakfast room into the park. Highly recommended. It's a perfect place to stay. On top comes the location of the hotel next to the park and close to city center.

Room Tip: Park view is best and very calm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We enjoyed staying at the Regent. The staff were very friendly and helpful - they let us check-in early after a long flight from the States and even made us a to-go breakfast bag when we had to leave early at the end of our stay to catch a train. The location is the best part - quick 12 minute or so walk to the train station, a 5 minute walk across Parker's Piece if you come via National Express bus from Heathrow. Also a 5 minute walk to the center of Cambridge.

The Regent was in a safe area. The room was clean and had a nice, large window overlooking the park. Other reviewers have said that it gets loud in the park at night - we stayed on a Friday and Saturday night and the noise did not bother us. We heard nothing. We kept the window closed because it was really cold outside, so that may be the trick.

We stayed in one of the "small rooms" which was indeed small (think NYC sizes). It was fine for a couple staying two nights. I would probably not stay more than two nights in the "small rooms." However, I will say that although small, the rooms were very well organized (no wasted space!). There was also plenty of shelving in the bathroom for my make-up and other girly products. The shower/tub had great water pressure and was spacious.

We would stay here again. The Regent was the best priced hotel for the location. I would recommend.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the park had a lovely view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Friendly, helpful staff. Terrific location. Quiet.
The only drawback was the lack of a wardrobe or closet in the room, which was surprising as there was ample space.
Taxi ride to the train station is only 5 pounds.
5 minute walk from the centre of town

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We only stayed one night, but we were pleased we booked it, based on the advice of previous reviews. We stayed in one of the larger top floor rooms, overlooking the park. The terrace was tiny (too small for two of us to sit and have a cup of tea around the table), but provided nice views over the park. The bedroom and bathroom were clean and appropriately equipped. The public rooms were pleasant and spacious, and the staff friendly. Although superbly located in the city centre, parking at the rear of the hotel (it was Sunday) was impossible, and we had to park at the reasonably pricey multi-storey nearby. As a hotel to use as a base in the city, I'd certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Firstly let me begin by saying this hotel was lovely, we stayed in one of the 2 top floor rooms, which were really spacious and had beautiful views over the park. The hotel is small and cosy and within walking distance to most of inner Cambridge. We even walked to the train station. Our room had a lovely balcony an everything was clean an modern. When booking, the website does say that there is only a continental breakfast. I have no problem with a continental breakfast BUT this is where this hotel falls short. Even with continental breakfasts, you can serve great meusli, fresh croissants and pastries and a good selection of cheeses and cold meats. Unfortunately they only serve things out of packages and tins. All cereals are packaged versions, no great muesli. awful pastries. I have stayed in quite a few establishments in Cambridge prior to The Regent and all have served freshly baked croissants and pastries in the morning, so this is a poor excuse.Even the fruit is not freshly cut , its out of a tin. I really think if they make a bit more effort with their breakfast this would be the ideal place to stay. I would love to go back, but I like a fresh breakfast before I start my day, so hopefully they will address this easily fixable problem and we will certainly be back again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Hotel

Address: 41 Regent Street, Cambridge CB2 1AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine listed building is situated in the heart of Cambridge. As a privately owned hotel we take pride in offering a personal, efficient and competitive service at all times. The Regent Hotel is completely non-smoking and all of the 22 bedrooms are fully air conditioned for your comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, T4B, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Cambridge
Regent Cambridge
Cambridge Regent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regent Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.