We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Cambridge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Home from Home

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Home from Home to your Saves list
Home from Home
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   78 - 80 Milton Road, Cambridge CB4 1LA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 117 Cambridge B&B and Inns
derby
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Weekend in Cambridge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The choice & variety for breakfast was outstanding, one of the best we have ever eaten, beautifully cooked. Our room was the basement apartment in the main building which was clean, well appointed & very well equipped. It had an excellent king size bed in the bedroom with large shower room off which was very well presented, lots of towels, etc. There was a single bed in the corner of the the sitting room along with a comfortable sofa, a coffee table & flat screen TV.
In a large recess the was a very well equipped kitchen that had everything you could need for self catering a full meal or just a cuppa (tea, coffee & a welcome pack were included).
Our daughter & son-in-law stayed in the separate building behind the main one, they were equally impressed.
The staff were extremely helpful very approachable, an excellent weekend.
We would recommend Home from Home to anyone.

Room Tip: Our basement rooms were down a short flight of steps, no good for anyone not so good on their legs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    51
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
37
81
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This B&B suited our needs for our 2 night stay over NY.

Friendly and helpful welcome from Vince

Free Parking and 15min walk to the centre of Cambridge

Wi-fi was provided FOC but on our first night it disconnected but no one around to ask.

Our double room was in the Bungalow behind the main house with a private bathroom along the corridor rather than en-suite. Slippers and robes were provided to use to walk to the bathroom which was handy.

The down side of staying in the bungalow was it was very very noisy, you could hear everything going on in the ajoining rooms bathroom. Don't expect a lie in either, as the breakfast is cooked and served in the bungalow and a lot of banging and clanging, plus all the smoke alarms tend to go off early.

Breakfast was nice and a lot of it to set us up for the day. Fruit, cereals, juice etc were also provided.

At £80 a night it was quite expensive but with it being NY

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My room was confortable and very clean. The Breakfast was generous and very well cooked. And the most important for me was the welcoming I have and the great kindness of the owner and his wife. Those people are generous. They do everything and more for your welfare.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Having recently stayed at the Home from home guest house, I was very pleasently supprised by the very warm welcome given by a member of staff,I booked a doudle for single use, Not only did the room contain a double and single, All the funiture was very new, and the room was spotless.
There was a second room which contained a kitchen and sitting area.
The breakfast was brilliant, I would highly recommonde To anyone,

Room Tip: Ask for an appartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Home from Home whilst we had a short stay in Cambridge. The location was ideal for us with just a short stroll into the City Centre. We stayed in the small additional building away from the main building which was fine for us. The breakfast was fantastic and the host, Vince, was very friendly and pointed us to an ideal local pub with fantastic food and atmosphere, The Spring. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We would say that this B&B is expensive and does not reflect good value at all. It is not up to the standard of others of the same price. It is unpleasant and, in fact it was the worst B&B in that we had stayed at in Britain.

The price of our room was 85 British Pounds: an outrage for the standard of accommodation and amenities: small room; bathroom and toilet down the corridor outside the room;

Breakfast was just ok.

This guest house is located quite far away from the city centre, you have to walk for 20 min. That was ok for us, because it was a pleasant walk in August but maybe it’s too far for people that can’t walk so much.

Neither in the web nor in the booking confirmation was told that our room was in a separate building down the back of the property that also had the dining room in it next to our room.

Definitively and without doubt, we will stay elsewhere next time in Cambridge.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esher, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had an overnight stay whilst visiting some of the Colleges. It was a convenient location with ample off street parking and a pleasant 15 min walk to the historic centre via the park & river.
We stayed in the ground floor family room which was both larger and better equipped than expected with plenty of room for 2 Adults and a 16yo.
The breakfasts were large and enjoyable - just the right start to a long day of walking around Cambridge and the Staff were friendly and helpful.
An enjoyable short stay and we would be happy to stay there again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Home from Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home from Home

Address: 78 - 80 Milton Road, Cambridge CB4 1LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Home from Home 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star silver award bed and breakfast. Located just a short walk from the city centre of Cambridge. Free wireless internet access. Private off road free parking. Breakfasts cooked to order from our large menu. Four star self-catering apartments also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Home from Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home From Home Hotel Cambridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Home from Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.