We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location but avoid Room 325 at all costs !!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Arundel House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Arundel House Hotel to your Saves list
Arundel House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chesterton Road, Cambridge CB4 3AN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Cambridge
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Perfect location but avoid Room 325 at all costs !!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Booked this hotel for a weekend away with some girl friends. The location is spot on only as short stroll through the park, along the river to the town centre. Ample free parking and the staff courteous and friendly. Our room tariff included a free continental breakfast which was more than adequate and for just over £76 per night, I feel this was a real bargain. But, and this is a BIG but . . . my room was up 3 flights of stairs, almost in the attic (at least in the attic there was a large window) but in my room (the smallest single room I have ever seen) there was only a small porthole sized window and with the sun blazing on that side of the hotel all day it was like a sweatbox. The size of the room albeit very small wasn't a problem but the heat was unbearable and that coupled with the noise of a boiler cranking to life at 7am, I thought we were under attack. But bad show really on the part of the hotel as this room is totally unfit for occupancy and how it ever passed a fire inspection I'll never know and there is definitely no way you could escape if there fire was on the stair case. Also I feel I must add the food in the restaurant was very nice indeed and the staff every so helpful and friendly - unlike some of the other reviews I have read.

Room Tip: Noisey on the front of the hotel as its on a main road, but avoid at all costs Room 325.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    122
    125
    69
    49
See reviews for
56
132
42
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

The hotel is located in a fairly quiet location but is no more than 10 minutes walk away from King's College etc. (the touristy part of the city). My room was clean and spacious. The hotel has a lovely conservatory and lounge style area which is perfect for work and meetings. Breakfast staff were very friendly and provided a great start to the day. Good selection of cereals, breads, cheese, fruit and yoghurts for breakfast. Overall, a nice hotel although a little pricey.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Generally a good hotel experience all round: good location, large room, good facilities. Very good parking. I thought it was reasonably expensive (around 150 pounds per night), but it seems this is standard for Cambridge. Hotel staff ranged from the very good and friendly (breakfast staff) to the absolutely disinterested verging on rude (person that checked us in - after a 2 hour drive, the last thing you need is abrupt, one word answers to questions).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucestershire
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

The hotel occupies a line of Victorian houses overlooking the river, only a few minutes walk from the historic college area across the green. Reception was reasonably speedy to check in, although later on pretty slow to check out. My room was first floor overlooking the road, but was quiet, more so than I had initially feared. At breakfast there was an unexplained length delay in finding seats, never did see why. Breakfast buffet was better than usual and the full English was the usual. At £125 per night the value for money was only average.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Hotel was clean, room was large especially the bathroom, checked in early room wasn't ready but receptionists very helpful gave us a map of the city and took car details, there was plenty of car parking spaces. Hotel was full but very quiet, hotel very well located 10 minute walk to quayside across a lovey river bridge and park. All staff were very polite, friendly and helpful. Although only continental breakfast, (we knew this when we booked) the breakfast was adequate, good selection of cereal, fruit, yogurt, bread etc.Altogether a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Our room was good, at front of hotel overlooking the river on same level as reception, it was not n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

the receptionist was rude and sullen. As we checked in we were both very taken aback by the lack of welcome. She first said there were possibly no rooms and was a total 'job's worth' finding a room; insisted that there were few rooms available but strangely there were few cars in the car park, few people around and few at breakfast in the morning. I have never before been to an hotel and not been shown to our room which we struggled to find. The room was unremarkable - we stayed in the new part - sound insulation was poor and we could almost hear the conversation of the people in the next room
The 'welcome' put us off and virtually ruined our stay. At breakfast only one of us had been booked thus we spent breakfast awaiting a manager to tackle us. Fortunately this did not occur although there were numerous sidelong looks and phone calls to managers
When we checked out the receptionist was perfectly charming - what a difference it makes. If this had been the case as we checked in it would have been so much more enjoyable.

Room Tip: don't recommend the new rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I am writing this review on behalf of my parents who stayed here for one night in May in The Coach House.

To start with they couldn't even get a space in the carpark and had to go into the staff carpark.

We were given the keys to our room (or rather an electronic Fob) and went accross the carpark to the Coach House. The building inside can only be described as student accommodation.. Very dated furniture and dangerous stairs if you're carrying heavy luggage or if you have had a few to drink!

The electronic system is very strange but you get the hang of it after a few tries. The room itself was incredibly dated. I wouldn't have minded but they paid £125 for this poor room!! That didn't even include a full English!!! There was even a dirty tissue left on the bedside table. The wifi was awful and only worked when sat right by the window. The bathroom was the only decent thing.

We were waiting for a party in the evening so decided to go and get a drink from the bar, however we couldn't even do that because the bar was closed. The very minimal staff that were on that evening were very good, apart from the 2 girls sat behind reception when we checked in who looked very bored and just sat there chewing gum whilst we waited for somebody else to see to us (Levi) and a special mention to Ryan who worked INCREDIBLY hard.

All in all the accommodation in this hotel is pretty awful for the price.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arundel House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arundel House Hotel

Address: Chesterton Road, Cambridge CB4 3AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arundel House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Arundel House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arundel Hotel Cambridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arundel House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.