We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arundel House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Arundel House Hotel to your Saves list
Arundel House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chesterton Road, Cambridge CB4 3AN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Cambridge
cambridge
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“comfortable and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Despite its austere appearance this is a friendly clean and quaint hotel reminiscent of the 1930s. The car parking at the rear is spacious and the views from the front across Jesus Green and the River Cam are delightful.The conservatory at the rear, although in need of a coat of paint, is relaxing and ideal for morning coffee or afternoon tea

Room Tip: Central for touring cambridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    123
    125
    69
    49
See reviews for
56
132
42
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed overnight in this really nice quirky hotel. It's a very clever conversion of several houses. So the rooms are a but small and I thought it was a pity the single bed was so narrow but it had a great location and was clean and very nice Cambridge is a great city so it's a great location and free parking.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Arundel House Hotel in late April 2013 on a visit to our son studying in Cambridge. We had visited Cambridge previously and knew of the difficulties with parking but on this occasion sought a central hotel location with car parking facilities. This is a major attraction of the Arundel House Hotel and one which does have financial benefit when looking at the room rate for this hotel. We stayed in the Coach House annex at a rate of £135 per night (2)which is high for what is provided in terms of hotel accommodation. The toilet with shower facility is tiny and they only provided one small plastic bottle of bath gel and one of shampoo for a couple, plus one small soap. The bed is normal double size and not what you would expect for the room price / in comparison with other hotels of similar rate. Continental breakfast was ok but at room price
charged it is a bit miserly to add a charge for cooked breakfast. Staff best described as efficient but little charisma. Advice for owner - make sure you retail the car park. Your only advantage.

Room Tip: Only stayed at the Coach House which has good access and was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed in hotel for three night, breakfast and dinner included. Rooms are small and old, but very clean and authentic. No complaints whatsoever, all comfort available. Bathroom is a little small though! Hotel is old which makes it noisy. Staff is very friendly and dedicated. Wifi is free and fast, although I did not have connection in my room on the top floor!
Food is excellent, service very good!
Location is ideal, in front of the park and 2 mins walk to the old centre.

Room Tip: I had room 302 on second floor, no elevator and no wifi in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I've always found hotel in the centre of Cambridge to be over-priced and not particularly good. So I pleased to find a single room via booking.com for a night including breakfast at £69. I arrived expecting it to be down market but was pleasantly surprised by the comfort of the room, which included an ensuite shower, tea, coffee and good biscuits and a good continental breakfast. It's next to the river with an 800 yard walk to the top of bustling Castle Street. My only criticism is the young man on reception was not particularly freindly or helpful. When I asked for directions to Downing College, he thrust a map at me saying he had no idea as he wasn't local. He could have perhaps looked on Google Maps on his computer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunningdale
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Well positioned for city exploration on foot. Free private parking a real benefit. Clean and comfortable rooms. Excellent food in Restaurant and Conservatory. Plenty of public space for meeting friends in the bar/lounge. Friendly helpful staff.

Room Tip: Coach House rooms on Restaurant & Bar level if stairs a problem.- no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed here on a friend's recommendation while working at nearby St John's College (just 10 minutes' walk). I stayed in a single room, which was perfectly clean with ensuite, the wifi worked fine after some prompt help from the front desk staff person called Ryan. I needed an extra pillow to be brought, which was sorted out immediately as well. His friendly politeness and professionalism was a credit to the place. I arrived wet, cold and tired, and to get a friendly professional welcome and a clean, warm room is all you could ask for. I will certainly stay here again when I am in Cambridge and would recomend Arundel House for its very convenient location, clean rooms and friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arundel House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arundel House Hotel

Address: Chesterton Road, Cambridge CB4 3AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arundel House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Arundel House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arundel Hotel Cambridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arundel House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.