We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be any worse” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Italia Cambridge Leisure Park

Bella Italia Cambridge Leisure Park
Cambridge Leisure Park | Clifton Way, Cambridge CB1 7DY, England
01223 247099
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #402 of 522 Restaurants in Cambridge
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Based in the busy Cambridge Leisure Park, Bella Italia is just the ticket for delicious, well priced Italian food. The dining room is a warm and inviting space and is perfect for groups of friends or families enjoying a day or night out. The menu is extensive and features a great choice of authentic Italian pizzas with a whole variety of toppings as well as some delicious pasta dishes. Why not check out the succulent grilled meats such as the chargrilled sirloin or the Pollo alla Griglia (chicken) with a Dolcelatte, white wine and cream sauce. Desserts are worth saving some room for, especially the tiramisu and the Italian banoffee pie. A great all rounder for all the family.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't be any worse”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I don't often write negative reviews but feel i have to following my visit with a couple of friends.
1 hour after ordering we found out the waiter had lost our order so we left!, sadly this is not the 1st time service has been terrible.
TRAIN YOUR STAFF!!
Won't be going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    17
    8
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Over crowd... Too noisy... Forgotten by staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Over crowded for the space... Especially at the weekend... Far too noisy... Unable to have a conversation much less think... The kind if noisy that gives you a headache... Forgotten by staff and had a difficult time trying to get someone to take payment so we could leave

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleport, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“fun place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We come here often mainly for dinner but sometimes for the breakfasts which are fresh and tasty... especially the sausages. Dinners here are a delight and the atmosphere is relaxed and chatty. The food is well cooked and the service always comes with a smile and some banter from the excellent staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Ok, it was an "office lunch" and there were 20 of us. It would not have been my choice of eating place as it's in a soulless Leisure Park complex (yuk!). Anyway, the service was reasonable - an obliging Manager (?) and friendly waitress but that's more or less all the positives. I ordered the bean salad as a starter (off the fixed price lunch menu). It was a soggy mess of very small squashed beans in a watery mush or tomatoes and onions. Very unappealing. Next came the lemon risotto..... it tasted of nothing, not even a good grinding of black pepper and grated parmesan could redeem this sad dish. We were the only people in there between 12.30 and 3pm and even though it was a Monday, I would have expected more customers - now I know why! Don't bother with this chain unless you are desperate!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Another let down chain”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Visited here for an early dinner. Waited for a good few minutes at the door before we were 'greeted' by a poker faced waiter who simply said 'you alright guys'; as if he had no possible idea as to why we were standing in the place.

Shown to a table and were informed they were out of steak and the coffee machine was out of order. Good start.

Eventually places our order, starter was fine but then again how wrong can you go with a few mini ciabattas and dipping oil. The main courses were terrible and I only ate the majority of my formaggio burger because I was so hungry. The burger was so dry and chewy. Chips soggy. My partners spaghetti carbonara was totally overcooked and mushy, and the sauce was tasteless. Real let down.

When I informed the waiter of our disappointment he looked at me as if I was an idiot. NO apology which was even more disgusting than the rip off meals we had.

It's such a shame that our high streets are dominated with these poor excuses for Authentic Italian cuisine. Really wouldn't recommend this place if you want friendly service and good food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Italia Cambridge Leisure Park also viewed

 

Been to Bella Italia Cambridge Leisure Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Italia Cambridge Leisure Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.