We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gonville Place, Cambridge CB1 1LY, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Cambridge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We have stayed at the Hotel felix on a couple of occasions previously but the location is not the best. Also, our previous visit was not the best so we looked for an alternative.

The Gonville was ideally located to stroll into Cambridge a 10 minute walk and as with some hotels there was no overnight charge for car parking.

The room and the bathroom were not on the large side but they it was more than adequate. It was clean and the bed was comfortable.

We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel we walked into Cambridge, so I can't comment on the food.

Reception staff were very pleasant. We will certainly stay here again if we return to Cambridge.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    320
    116
    29
    22
See reviews for
94
370
56
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

A perfectly pleasant place to stay and within walking distance of the centre of town. The staff were friendly, the hotel was clean and the rooms nicely appointed. I believe they're renovating the hotel over time as the rooms seemed recently furnished whereas the reception needs some updating. We didn't use the restaurant so cannot comment on the food. Free parking is a huge bonus as central Cambridge is not an easy place to park. Overall a nice stay and would return if an overnight was required in Cambridge. As a general comment, I found hotels in Cambridge to be expensive (even more so if you have to pay for parking) and so £160ish for a Saturday night may seem a lot but for central Cambridge I think it represents one of the better value options.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

This is a really good hotel.Ideally located for the centre of Cambridge.The room was very pleasantly decorated of a good size with a decent LG flat screen television.The bed was very comfortable.Complimentary bottles of water was a nice touch.The reception staff were excellent and acted on every request with no problems.I read previous reviews about the breakfast well if there was a problem it's behind them because the full English was superb .Also free parking wich is brilliant.I would definitely recommend this hotel and would use it again without a second thought.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher O, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Papadopoulous,

Thank you very much for your 5 star review! This was great to see, the team and I were delighted to see your comments and pleased that you had a great stay with us.

I hope that we will get to welcome you back to the Gonville soon!

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millport18
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

One night stay. Uninspiring reception but very nice welcome. Had a twin room which was very nicely appointed and had comfortable beds. Modern bathroom and plenty of hot water. We had a problem with something falling down the plug hole and had to leave for a meeting - told reception and the problem was resolved by the time we had returned - excellent service. Breakfast was excellent in the morning in a nice, airy and well sunlit restaurant. Everything very clean. Good parking and no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher O, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Milport18

Thank you for your review, we are delighted to tell you that soon our uninspiring reception will have a make over and will be looking fabulous!

We thought it was more important to get the guest rooms refurbished first before moving on to the public areas. We have recently finished the Atrium which as you say is airy and well sunlit.

I am pleased that you found everything to be to your satisfaction and you were able to have a great stay with us.

I hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Thanks again for taking the time,

Kind regards

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We very much enjoyed the restaurant here, dinner was lovely and the breakfast was superb. We had a very comfortable nights sleep in a clean room, and the free parking was a bonus. Good location opposite the green so a nice walk into town. All in all - winner!

Room Tip: The lift is tiny - not a big issue but if you have children / prams, be aware
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

The location of this hotel is great with parking included, it is only a 10min walk to the heart of the city. The rooms are really nice and quite big. It would be nice to have both a bath and shower rather than one or the other. We asked for a view of the park and this was provided which was great. The breakfast was lovely and they provided soya milk which was really appreciated. All staff were really friendly and helpful. My only issue is the cost, I think despite the many positives it is over priced, but this seems to be a theme in Cambridge. I would definitely stay again.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed for the night over the weekend. Great location, a couple of minutes walk from the bars and restaurants. Parking is an absolute bonus. The greeting was friendly and our room was very clean and tidy. The breakfast was spot on, I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher O, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Richard B,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, I was really pleased to see that you had a great stay with us over the weekend and everything including the breakfast was to our normal high standard.

Please know I will be passing on your feedback to the rest of the team who will also be very pleased.

I hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Thanks again,

Kind regards


Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel

Address: Gonville Place, Cambridge CB1 1LY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#3 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#6 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run AA 4 star 84 bedroom hotel, with recently refurbished bedrooms and Atrium Restaurant.Free high speed Wifi and free car parking for residents. Located in central Cambridge overlooking the famous Parker's Peice a 25 acre open park, near to the rail and coach stations. Ideal for visiting the many Historic University buildings and close to the main shopping areas. Such as the Grande Arcade and Grafton Centre.Children welcome from any age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Best Western
Best Western Cambridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.