We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Tis a pity” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gonville Place, Cambridge CB1 1LY, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Cambridge
GreenLeadersSilver level
london, england
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“'Tis a pity”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Although just that bit off the central Cambridge tourist track, this is a comfortable base, with an especial appeal for wheelchair users who have the benefit of suitably equpped en suite rooms on the ground floor. What is patently lacking is expertise in hotel management, certainly the weekend we spent there when everything from front desk to rsstaurant seemed to be in the hands of delightful but inexperienced girls from Central Europe. Thus, when the air conditioning in our room failed to work, were visited by two charming young ladies who had no clue about how to resolve the problem. Eventually a young a=nd concerned manager arrived but he was no more expert than the girls. We ended up asking for, and being given, an electric heater which took some of the chill off the room. No one thought to call an electrician nor did anyone offer us an alternative room. It did not help that we had to spend an hour in the bar waiting to be called to our pre-booked dinner table and another 40 minutes waiting for our first course. Everything in this hotel looks well and feels well. If only it were well managed.

Room Tip: Even if you are not disabled, ask for a room from 1 to 4, ground floor, newly refurbished, fair size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COgston1, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear gdavidp,

I was sorry to learn that of your disappointment during your recent visit with us, this does not sound like our usual high standard.

I have since spoken to the manager who came to your room who informs me that there was nothing wrong with your air conditioning system; he made sure that it was on the correct settings and spoke with you until hot air started to come out of the vent which was then checked by your wife before he left. He left the heater with you so that it would heat up faster than normal so you were comfortable. Being fully booked that night a room move was not an option so this was not offered.

Ensuring our guests are comfortable is of paramount importance to us, we don’t always get it right but we do try our best and were possible we use poor experiences to help train and develop our team to avoid them in future.

I am sorry that you had to wait longer than usual for your meal that night, since introducing our Head Chef’s new menu we have be achieving some record numbers in the Atrium and unfortunately on this evening caused a delay. I hope that drinks in the bar beforehand helped make the wait not seem so long.

In our experience age or where you are from has nothing to do with capability or expertise; some of our team have worked in some of the best hotel brands from around the world and we find this helps with many guest visiting from other nations due to Cambridge being a multinational city.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    321
    116
    29
    22
See reviews for
95
371
56
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I've stayed here several times in the past and liked the hotel for the excellent location, cleanliness and for being "British" in a nice way. The disadvantages have always been there: No wardrobe, tiny bathroom, poor breakfast, no gym. Even the hair dryer, placed underneath the desk in a very uncomfortable location is a minus. But the advantages made up for it. However this time they put me in a room with a bath tub rather than a shower; and the nice thing was that the bath tub didn't have a curtain or a wall. Nothing. And the shower head hangs low. So you'd have to hold the shower head in your hand, try not to wet the whole bathroom on one hand, and freeze while you use your soap or shampoo, and swear whoever designed this place. On top of it all, if you exercise and need to wash your clothes, there would be no place for you to hang your clothes to dry in the bathroom.
The nice additions would be a very slow reception process and room keys which often don't work.

So, dear Gonville hotel - I appreciate your efforts to save money and be "green" - but no thanks.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COgston1, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Carroth

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, I am sorry to learn that during this visit we did not exceed your expectations with regards to your room.

If we had known at the time we may have been able to find you a more suitable room or even have made arrangements to have your clothes cleaned and brought to you if needed.

We are I am pleased to say getting wardrobes in January in the rooms that don’t have them to replace the current contemporary set up which is not to everyone’s taste.

Please know that we will be taking your comments to heart and will be making improvements where necessary.

Thanks again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We use this hotel whenever in Cambridge now. Good location for city. Not tried restaurant for dinner yet. However breakfast is of good quality and choice with an excellent freshly cooked English. Self service for all other items. I am a wheelchair user and alway request an suitable from. So far always supplied the best was a newly refurbished one which I like the best and it is at the rear of the hotel. Beds clean and very large, make for a good nights sleep if you can get past the air con/ heating fan that can be quite audible. Check out is 11am and you room key is cancelled at this point. If you need extra time as when checking in this will save you rushing in the morning. I must admit I am not the most speediest first thing. We take our dog also and he is always welcome and we are not charged for him, which is hugely appreciated. If you are in a wheelchair and not with a strong helper you will need to use the entrance around the side of the hotel, go to reception for instructions. The only negative. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COgston1, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Julie P

Thank you so much for your great review, my team are delighted to learn you had a great stay with us again.

Please know that we aim to address some of the issues you have raised in our planned future refurbishments.

Next time you visit please let me know as it will be a pleasure to meet you and show you the delights of our Restaurant.

Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This was our second stay in the Gonville and this time were again not disappointed. Location very central and close to the Train station. Parking available on site. Beds very soft and comfortable. Slept well each night. High standard of food. Very helpful staff. The one odd thing was that my Maestro card was not accepted for pre-authorisation of the bill although it was accepted to pay the bill.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in Oct/Nov 2013 in room 209.
First the positives:
Very good location – just 10 minutes walk from the centre of Cambridge and there is ample parking.
The room and shower-room were very clean and very nicely decorated – and there is a safe.
All the staff were friendly and helpful.
Breakfast – a reasonable selection of cereal and fruit. The hot breakfast was nicely cooked to order.
We did have dinner in the hotel on one night – it was very good, if a tad pricey – although we did have a complimentary bottle of wine – so can’t complain too much about the cost.

Now the negatives:
As the headline suggests we would recommend you take as little stuff with you as possible. There is only a one rack for coat-hangers and NO other storage space. We had to resort to keeping our clothes (shirts, blouses underwear etc) in our cases and which is not satisfactory. We just about survived because it was a short stay. How can someone design a hotel room with no storage? There was only one towel rail in the shower room.

We returned late (23:00) one evening and decided to have a drink in the bar. There were two staff in the bar, and it was not busy, but all the unoccupied tables had empty glasses and bottles on them. This is not the level of preparation we expected from such a hotel.

(All these points were raised with the hotel on their feedback form.)

Would we stay again: Yes for the location – but we wouldn’t take any luggage with us.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COgston1, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear GOMCP

Firstly may I thank you for taking the time to leave your review and feedback form.

I was sorry to learn that you were not happy with your room due to the contemporary storage solution in place, I agree that this is not to everyone's taste and pleased to tell you that we are getting these replaced with a wardrobe in January.

If we had known this at the time we would have happily found you a more suitable room with wardrobe and drawers.

I was also sorry to see that the bar staff did not clear away the tables promptly as they should have, I understand that a large group staying with us had recently left the bar area however please know I will be taking this up with the F&B manager as it should have been dealt with straight away in order to create the right first impression.

On another note I am pleased that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and our location to be very good and you enjoyed dining with us.

I hope that we will have another opportunity to serve you again were we will endeavour to exceed your expectations.

Thank you again for taking the time,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel

Address: Gonville Place, Cambridge CB1 1LY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#3 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#6 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run AA 4 star 84 bedroom hotel, with recently refurbished bedrooms and Atrium Restaurant.Free high speed Wifi and free car parking for residents. Located in central Cambridge overlooking the famous Parker's Peice a 25 acre open park, near to the rail and coach stations. Ideal for visiting the many Historic University buildings and close to the main shopping areas. Such as the Grande Arcade and Grafton Centre.Children welcome from any age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Best Western
Best Western Cambridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.