We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small but perfectly formed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gonville Place, Cambridge CB1 1LY, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 34 hotels in Cambridge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“small but perfectly formed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed in room 008 which was very clean but a little on the small side. This is a pleasant hotel which is worth considering as the rooms have recently been refurbished and are quite nice. Good choice on the rooms hot drink tray and good selection of toiletries. We payed £74 for a saturday night without breakfast which was quite good value for Cambridge.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    247
    279
    102
    26
    22
See reviews for
83
305
49
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

My room that I was originally presented with hadn't been cleaned from the preivous encumbant, but after raising it with reception a short wait and a heartfelt appology the alternated room I was given was very good. The staff helped with whatever they could and the breakfast was great. Thank you for a peaceful and relaxing stay.

Room Tip: No pool or fitness centre but nice rooms and great staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Very enjoyable weekend break. The hotel was very clean, rooms were spotless and newly refurbished which was great. The breakfast menu had a very good choice. On the first morning service was a wee bit slow and food wasn't overly hot, but the second morning service was excellent and food served up piping hot!
Ideal location to the town centre, restuarants and all the sights and we shall certainly be returning!
Would have scored it as excellent had the breakfast on the first morning been as good as the second!

Room Tip: We had a double room with bath on the first floor, plenty of room,very quiet, lovely big bed and roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed at the Gonville for 3 nights. It's in an excellent location with the bonus of free parking. All of the staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make our stay memorable. Room on front of hotel was very comfortable, and the breakfast was brilliant. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We have stayed at the Gonville previously and think this hotel is in an excellent location in Cambridge. Easy walking distance to the Town and river etc.

This is by far the best Best Western Hotel that we have stayed in. The rooms are very comfortable and recently re-furbished.

However, they offer a 'turn down bed service' which we did not get either night and breakfast on the first morning was very slow in as much as after 20 minutes we had to ask for our tea and coffee and our breakfast order to be taken. It was then a further 10 minutes before we got our tea and coffee with other guests who were seated after us were served theirs before us. Having said that the breakfast is excellent and the staff are all very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

nice hotel, clean , friendly staff, free parking, walking distance to city center about 5 mins,
the breakfast is pretty good although it's not a help yourself buffet for cooked food, but plenty of continental stuff is.
the only thing i didn't like was the glass door to the bathroom, so if you want a pee in the middle of the night ,take a torch so you dont wake the missus up.
if you get a room overlooking the park be aware its on a busy road hence it might be a bit noisy for some.
overall the location is key.
p.s don't bother having a meal in the averey pub over the road its served on stone cold plates.

Room Tip: avoid the averey pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend break in lovely Cambridge. This hotel is excellent. We had a peaceful room, there is easy free parking (they let us leave our car for the day after we checked out), fabulous breakfast with our specific preferences, central location and above all else, really, really fantastic service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel

Address: Gonville Place, Cambridge CB1 1LY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#5 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run AA 4 star 84 bedroom hotel, with recently refurbished bedrooms and Atrium Restaurant.Free high speed Wifi and free car parking for residents. Located in central Cambridge overlooking the famous Parker's Peice a 25 acre open park, near to the rail and coach stations. Ideal for visiting the many Historic University buildings and close to the main shopping areas. Such as the Grande Arcade and Grafton Centre.Children welcome from any age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Best Western
Best Western Cambridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.