We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for regular hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gonville Place, Cambridge CB1 1LY, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Cambridge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good location for regular hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Hotel location is very good. it is in the middle of the Cambridge. Rest of the hotel is on average. do not leverage your expectations. But it is ok.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    320
    116
    29
    22
See reviews for
94
371
56
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I stayed in this hotel in the last three nights. It has a very beautiful view on open park. My room was completely new, so clean and very well furnished. I ordered food and it was good. Staff there is helpful whenever you I called they were ready to help. It was my first time to Cambridge and it was great.

Room Tip: Try to book early as it is always fully booked
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Chose this hotel because of the excellent location. Friendly check-in and most staff were nice.
One or two senior members not so friendly. Room was small and poorly furnished and at the rear. The one dinner we had in the restaurant was a disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

My husband and I spent five nights at the Gonville hotel , Cambridge. It was spotless, comfortable, and a lovely retreat from the bustle of Cambridge. The staff were first class, friendly and welcoming. Free use of internet connected pc in foyer meant we could research tourist attractions etc. The hotel is about a fifteen minute walk to the far end of town where the punts leave from. As Cambridge is so flat, walking in and out of town was easy. The nearest restaurants and shops are about a 2 minute stroll. After an excellent selection of continental and cooked food at breakfast, we ate somewhere different every night, and would recommend Efes Turkish restaurant in King street and the Hotel's own dinner menu was also lovely. Personally, I was not a fan of the sliding glass bathroom door. Due to the design, it does not give complete privacy, so I would not share a room here with anyone who was not a close friend! On check out you can leave your luggage for up to six hours, which was very handy for us as we had another almost full day to explore before our 10-15 minute walk to the train station. We are very glad we chose this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffs
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Good location, a few minutes walk from the city centre over looking a park, free parking included,a nice welcome and very helpful at reception when i was a walk in customer, a little dissapointed in the room or more the Toilet/shower/wet room, it had a glass frosted sliding door which you could see through so not too private,the room was also a little on the small side and also no wardrobe, just a few hangers on the wall near the door? i also heard the room next door having a row at around 3 in the morning,so very thin walls, but to sum it up, i would stay again but didnt like the frosted door or lack of wardrobes.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Downs
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at the Gonville Hotel this time for two nights because other Cambridge hotels, that we have previously used, had hiked their prices. It turned out to be an excellent decision - the hotel is very conveniently placed for the centre of the town and colleges and has its own (free) parking - particularly important in Cambridge. The accomodation is very comfortable (recently renovated, I believe) with everything you might need, including air conditioning. Clothes hanging space in the bedrood is perhaps a little limited. However, the best aspect was the friendly, polite and most helpful staff, not to mention the excellent breakfasts and (amazingly for a good hotel) the free wi-fi. We shall certainy use the Gonville again on our regular trips to Cambridge.

Room Tip: Front of the hotel would have good views over Parker's Piece but the back, where we were, was id...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This extremely well located hotel is a much more up scale version of a Best Western. The rooms have been refurbished so they are airy and spacious. We had perfect views of Parker's Piece and could see the Olympic torch festivities without having to get wet (it rained all weekend). I highly recommend that you get the breakfast; the price is reasonable, food is very good and the service prompt and friendly. The staff at the hotel are courteous, attentive and friendly. On our return to Cambridge (my husband's alma mater), we will be staying here again if they have room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that views Parker's Piece.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel

Address: Gonville Place, Cambridge CB1 1LY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#3 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#6 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run AA 4 star 84 bedroom hotel, with recently refurbished bedrooms and Atrium Restaurant.Free high speed Wifi and free car parking for residents. Located in central Cambridge overlooking the famous Parker's Peice a 25 acre open park, near to the rail and coach stations. Ideal for visiting the many Historic University buildings and close to the main shopping areas. Such as the Grande Arcade and Grafton Centre.Children welcome from any age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Best Western
Best Western Cambridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Gonville Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.