We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Cambridge
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Perfect in every way, the arrival was so welcoming and amazing entrance. Rooms perfect and excellent views of the river. Breakfast was luxury and not one complaint a pleasure to stay there and the staff are excellent. Will defo be booking to go back a credit to hilton.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear 357Danh
Thank you very much for your review. We are absolutely delighted that you had such an excellent stay with us in every way. All of our team members work very hard to make our guests stay a memorable one and we are thrilled to know that on this occasion we surpassed your expectations on the hotel and the Hilton brand. Many thanks for your comments and hope to have you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    452
    218
    106
    34
See reviews for
235
468
62
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a family wedding having stayed at a number of Double Trees, this is not a patch on the Double Tree in Newcastle. The rooms are nothing special the cost of Wi-Fi is very high, the TV’s in the rooms are poor quality. And parking charges are astronomic. Unless you need to be in the heart of the City I suggest you stay at so called budget hotel and get a Taxi into the City. And you need a mortgage to pay for a very average breakfast.

Room Tip: Stay on the outskirts of the Town get a Bus or Taxi into Town If you do stay be prepared to pay thro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Sydney W
Thank you for your review. I was sorry to read that you were not happy with our charges. These reflect our superb location and accommodations, great service, complimentary facilities such as swimming pool and leisure club, as well as many other amenities which, in my opinion, cannot be compared with a budget hotel. However we take your valid comments on board and will be brainstorming them as we do with every comment we receive as this are vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide. I can only hope that these did not mar your stay with us and that you enjoyed the family wedding held at the DoubleTree Cambridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

What can go wrong ... lovely location, pleasant hotel, good parking in a city not renowned for that and pleasant staff.....well I'd try somewhere else if you're booking ahead.
My daughters 'hen tea' for 25 of us in February was fantastic, tea and the tea! was great.... today our experience for 4 on the new menu was pretty sad. Staff just as friendly but the food was below average... .....
unpalatable white bread around skimpily filled sandwiches, dry scone and sponge cake and a chocolate pot mousse that was too runny, tasted 'uncooked' and was a challenge to eat. As for the tea in the pot ... make sure you ask for 4 tea bags to get some sort of colour!!
Price has gone up bu the the tea taste has very certainly gone down... what a shame..

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Holly52
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback after your latest visit to the hotel for an Afternoon Tea. I can see from your comments that despite exceeding your expectations in past visits, on this occasion we failed to deliver our usually high quality of food and service for which you have come to known us for, please accept our most sincere apology. Necessary changes and training will be implemented as a result of your valid comments and hopefully on your next visit you will have another memorable Afternoon Tea with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

This hotel has a good location right on the river, and the service is great. Beds are a little hard and the rooms a little small but the location and food make up for it. Hilton breakfast always great value.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Debdancer1
Thank you for your short but sweet review. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and very happy to know that the service and food were great during your stay. It is certainly a great morale boost to hear nice comments such as yours. We look forward to welcoming you back to the DoubleTree Cambridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Booked into the hotel, for an overnight stay with my partner. Very friendly front desk and room service staff. Our room had a good view of the river, and was spacious clean and tidy. Excellent location in the city Parking was easy, if a little steep – but, pretty much in line with what you would expect in Cambridge Would happily stay again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Rob G
Many thanks for your review. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your overnight stay at the DoubleTree Cambridge. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

My first stay here, and I left with mixed views.

The first room upgrade we were offered had clearly been used by a heavy smoker, so we were moved to another room. It was smaller, but had a balcony. Unfortunately it was raining so this was of little use!

The room was clean and comfortable, but at £360 very expensive. At that price, i would expect free parking.

The restaurant was chaotic in the evening, but more organised for breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear GrahamB67
Thank you for your review. I was sorry to read that unfortunately you left with mixed views of the hotel. Although you were eventually happy with your room allocation, I am sorry that housekeeping did not pick up on the smell of smoke in the room. Also our apologies for the chaotic service in the evening. Your comments have already been forwarded to the Head of Housekeeping and Restaurant Manager for them to pick up on these issues and address them immediately.
For now, I can only hope that you will not be deterred from returning to the hotel as I am sure that on your next stay you will not experience these problems and have a most enjoyable stay at the DoubleTree Cambridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

This is a comfortable hotel appropriate for leisure and business travellers, though one big downside is that there is no free Wifi. Come on Hilton, everyone expects that now. You even get 30mins free at budget-priced Premier Inns!

The prime attraction is its location, right next to the centre of town alongside the river, close to the punting embarkation point. (Access is not easy to find, Mill Lane is a tiny road off Trumpington Street and easy to miss; the directions on their website mention Mill Road but it is Mill Lane). There are lovely lawns in the extensive gardens, you can eat or drink there beside the water, understandably it is a popular wedding location.

Rooms are large, quiet and reasonably well appointed with TV, minibar, iron and board, guest controlled air conditioning/heating, hair drier, black out curtains and huge beds. The bathrooms however are very small with hardly any space to lay out your toiletries (designed by a man no doubt) and not enough hooks. Some rooms have balconies overlooking the river but I am not convinced it is worth the extra money for this - I never saw anyone standing on theirs!

The restaurant (70s décor in dull green and purple) is branded to Marco Pierre White, the celebrity chef. I am not sure how much input he has into the kitchen but his photo is everywhere. And the food is very good for a mid range corporate style hotel. If staying for a few days, factor in one meal here (see my other restaurant reviews for places to eat in town and around).

The staff are all lovely and the service very good. They had to be very patient with some guests understandably miffed by the failings of the online booking system. Mostly young and from a range of different countries they made our stay feel special.

The disabled facilities are good. There are rooms with access to wheelchairs though no walk-in/wheel in shower. The shower is over a low rise bath: impossible for someone with no or little mobility to access. There is a special lift down the two steps to the bar/restaurant, though if this is out of order you have to wheel the chair around the property and access by another door.

The health club has excellent complimentary gym and a pool which is large enough to swim lengths, and there is a free sauna, Jacuzzi and steam room. If you use these facilities it really does make the room price value for money. The health club is open to non-residents and a few turn up early in the morning but on the whole breakfast time is a good time to find the pool fairly empty.

Apart from the Wifi issue my main gripe is the car parking charge. An exorbitant £19.90 per day. This is easily avoided if you have a Blue Badge but if not it is hard to find anywhere cheap or free to park in the city. You can park after 5.30 or 6.30pm in many streets but that leaves you with the problem of where to park during the day. You may have to park a long walk/bus ride from the hotel to avoid the charge, somewhat mitigating the advantage of the central location (you are not allowed to park overnight in the Park and Ride car parks). Information about parking in Cambridge is available on the internet. if you don't have a car you are laughing: take a taxi to the hotel and while you are staying there you can easily walk to and from most of the attractions, nightlife, shops etc.

Room Tip: The basic rate rooms are fine; no need to pay more unless a special occasion or you really want an u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Cookidog
Thank you for your most valuable feedback. We are very pleased to read that you had such a wonderful stay with us. The time taken along with the effort made to share your comments with us is most appreciated. Feedback from our guests is vitally important in our mission to be the first choice of the world’s travellers. We look forward to welcoming you back to the DoubleTree by Hilton Cambridge in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge

Address: Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#9 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge is a four star hotel surrounded by the River Cam, minutes from the city centre. The 122 refurbished en-suite bedrooms feature a plasma flat screen television, air-conditioning, mini fridge, iron & ironing board and laptop safe. Upgraded executive bedrooms and suites, including the Penthouse Suite are also available. Four air conditioned function rooms are ideal for large or small events and the refurbished Riverside Brasserie is perfect for fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hilton International Cambridge
Cambridge Hilton International
Doubletree Cambridge
Hilton Cambridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.