We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DoubleTree Hilton Cambridge” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Cambridge
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“DoubleTree Hilton Cambridge”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Excellent Location & car parking. Good food & staff. Clean & Tidy but lacking in detailed maintenance. Corridors are maze like & internal directions could be improved. Pool size is misleading on web site. It is actually too small to swim in.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear John S
Thank you for your review. I was pleased to know that overall you enjoyed your stay and you were happy with the location, car parking, food and staff. I have duly noted your constructive comment about the internal directions, I will pass them onto the relevant manager. I am sorry if you were disappointed with the size of the pool, although it is not an Olympic pool it is adequate for a leisurely swim, we do have in fact many members that come every morning just for a swim, however I am sorry if this was not to your liking.
John S, thank you once again for your feedback, we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    497
    236
    120
    37
See reviews for
252
506
64
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

McDonald's dont do it
Starbucks don't do it

£6.50 for 1st hr....simply unacceptable. Was given a cookie whilst the wifi charges were explained.
Car park £18.50
Shower head clogged and calcified
Decor tired.
Competition in hot in Cambridge so won't be back

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Spoiler68
I am really sorry to read that you will not be returning to the hotel, mostly due to the Internet charges. We do offer complimentary use of our Business centre on the ground floor, with free use of our computers, printing and WiFi access. My apologies if this was not explained to you on check in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

A large hotel in a prime location, we had a room with a balcony and a view of the wear (not the Cam). Room was not particularly clean with a lot of dust all about and the carpets had not been vacuumed. Bathroom was large with 50's style fittings, the wood laminates were peeling apart due to years of steam attack. Bar prices were astronomical!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Paul W
Thank you for your review. I was very sorry that your stay was marred by poorly vacuumed carpet in your bedroom and the state of the wood laminates for which I offer our most sincere apology, this is completely unacceptable and certainly not up to our high levels of cleanliness. Your valuable comments have already been passed on to the Head Housekeeper for immediate action. In the meantime, I can only hope that you will return to the DoubleTree Cambridge where you will be welcomed by our immaculate bedrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We have just had a 2 night stay at The Hilton in Cambridge and from the warm and efficient welcome to check out the service was excellent. We had a river facing room with small balcony which was very good even although it rained for 24 hrs! We had a good snack lunch after our arrival and enjoyed dinner in the hotel that evening. The location of this hotel is great because you are close to all that is going on in Cambridge and yet you have the quiet surroundings and lovely view of the river - we shall certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Venice211
Thank you so much for your review, we are thrilled to read such positive feedback and to know that you enjoyed your two days stay in Cambridge so very much that even the rain could not mar it. It is an absolute pleasure to know that all of the team members’ hard work does not go unnoticed and that you will be returning to the DoubleTree Cambridge. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

At 170£+ (plus 18.75£ for parking) one expects a lot more than this. The rooms are ok, the bathroom was not cleaned properly (all matter of hair from previous guests on toilet, bathroom floor and in the shower), the building is very tired looking. If you can, take your money somewhere else, it is in a great location, shame they aren't making more of it. Poor, unfriendly Service other than from the front desk too.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear viceroy99
I was mortified to read your comments about your stay with us. Cleaning and service are of outmost importance to the overall experience of our guests and we are incredibly sorry to know that we have failed you on this occasion. All the relevant managers are already aware of your comments and will investigate further your comments whilst implementing urgent staff training to make sure that this does not recur in the future. Please give us a second chance when I am positive you will not experience these kinds of downfall again but just a memorable stay at the DoubleTree Cambridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Fire alarm went off 3 times in night and there was persistent noise underneath our rooms during the night - consulted staff in morning who accepted and discounted the rooms but not what you need for a bit of rest away from kids!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Claire A
Thank you for your review. I was very sorry to read that due to the noise coming from guests underneath and the unpredictable fire alarm episode, your weekend away from kids was marred. As I explained to the previous review this was caused by a guest causing smoke in the bedroom. The alarm went off few times until the smoke had completely dissipated. I thank you for your understanding and hope you will return to the DoubleTree Cambridge for another weekend away when I am sure you will have a brilliant and relaxing experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Whereas the hotel is in an excellent location close to the city centre it is beginning to look a bit tired particularly on the outside. Our stay was marred by the fire alarm going off twice on the second night and a deep humming noise in the room caused, I presume, by the air conditioning equipment. When you're paying over £600 for two nights you would also expect the parking and wifi to be thrown in as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Chris A
Thank you for taking time to leave a review on return from your weekend stay in Cambridge. I am very sorry if this was marred by the fire alarm going off in the night. The alarms went in to evacuation mode due to a guest causing smoke to fill in their bedroom. Our nights team were working hard to get the issue resolved as quickly as possible with the support of the fire brigade. The incident was brought under control and the alarms silenced but the smoke was still within the bedroom and filter of the smoke detector of the bedroom and this caused the alarms to go off for the 2nd and 3rd time. The safety of our customers and staff is of paramount importance, and as such we were unable to stop the alarm from sounding until we were satisfied that the issue had been resolved. The hotel was not evacuated as the night team dealt with the situation in the correct manner and this was also highlighted by the fire brigade. Once again, I am sorry if this and the humming noise disturbed your sleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge

Address: Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#9 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge is a four star hotel surrounded by the River Cam, minutes from the city centre. The 122 refurbished en-suite bedrooms feature a plasma flat screen television, air-conditioning, mini fridge, iron & ironing board and laptop safe. Upgraded executive bedrooms and suites, including the Penthouse Suite are also available. Four air conditioned function rooms are ideal for large or small events and the refurbished Riverside Brasserie is perfect for fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hilton International Cambridge
Cambridge Hilton International
Doubletree Cambridge
Hilton Cambridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.