We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good All Round” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge

Save Saved
You added Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #11 of 34 hotels in Cambridge
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pretty Good All Round”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Very good central location. Standard Hilton rooms, well maintained, comfortable beds & big tv screen. Mini bar has sensors and no space for one's own stuff - I don't like this. Public areas pretty good, although corridors a little old fashioned. On the downside the pool is not up to the job. It is too small for the size of hotel and the changing area is tiny. Hotel should provide dressing gowns so you can change in your room. I heard that hotel may be planning to replace the pool with more rooms? Breakfast was decent enough and improved by the great views of the river. A good size car park is available. It costs £18.50 per night but I think that is ok for Cambridge.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor, your feedback is always appreciated.
I was pleased to see from your ratings and comments that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We take your valid comments on-board about the dressing gowns. For now, we just look forward to welcoming you back to the DoubleTree Cambridge in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    296
    396
    180
    93
    31
See reviews for
202
413
52
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

£270 for bed and breakfast in a double room with a view of the river.

The hotel was fine. It did what it said on the tin. Reception were helpful and efficient.

Room was none too large for the price and the lack of proper separate shower reflected the age of the place.

The aircon didn't really work properly so it was either be too hot or open the sliding door and freeze.

Breakfast was fine but relatively basic. A buffet with the usual stuff. But little things let it down -one inefficient toaster, a lack of marmalade- no we don't want Apricot jam thanks. Unusually good sausages.

Its position is very convenient and the car park - at £18.50- is good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Merlin1946
Thank you for taking the leave a review on TripAdvisor on your return from your visit to the DoubleTree Cambridge.
We are pleased to see from your ratings and constructive comments that overall you enjoyed your stay with us despite few issues. We will certainly address all of your comments and take immediate action with those easily fix such as lack of marmalade, an inexcusable error, and keep as future reference those that require bigger commitment. But for now, we sincerely hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Cambridge in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, UK
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We have had several stays here. Best recommended for its riverside location (not easy to find in this city). Good recognition of Hilton Gold status. Above average buffet breakfast, but the restaurant quality in the evening is a bit patchy. In summer the outdoor bar area by the river is a must, and they make some of the best pizzas we have tasted in a long time.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Vaux
Thank you for your feedback. We are very pleased to read that you a regular at the DoubleTree Cambridge and that you enjoyed your stay with us, our location, the benefits that the complimentary Hilton membership has to offer and the food and service. We look forward to welcoming you back and serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

A good hotel, pleasant room, but a few details (such as no bulb in the standard lamp, written-over brochure) that you wouldn't expect at this price. Lovely location and agreeable decor, but not quite as luxurious as you might expect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Marcella M
Thank you for your review, although short it is very constructive and gives us great feedback and admittedly good lesson to learn from and make sure that our Housekeeping team focuses on the small details that make all the difference. I apologise that these details were missed during your stay and hope that you will give us a second chance and experience a more luxurious visit at the DoubleTree Cambridge in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Lovely hotel in great location. Next to Kings college/Kings parade, Grand Arcade shopping centre. Parking at 18GBP, good value for in-out parking, compares to 24 at local car parks (no in-out). Breakfast excellent, great walks by river cam (close to Backs, garden areas behind colleges).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear boyd_jj
Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that the car parking system (in-out) was useful and price convenient during your stay with us. We look forward to having you with us again for another visit to Cambridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The Doubletree has a great location right on the river by Queens College surrounded by bars and restaurants. If you need a central location to check out Cambridge and your budget stretches to it I would recommend...

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Seb M
Thank you for your positive review and recommendation. We hope you are able to return to us soon for more Cambridge sightseeing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel is fantastic from the service at reception, to the dining room, the swimming pool, sauna and Jacuzzi. The location is great on the river and very close to the city centre. The only problem we had was the room was baking hot.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Rebecca W
Thank you for your more than positive feedback. We are delighted that you found the hotel and the service from all our team members to be fantastic. I will make sure to pass on your comments to all the staff, I am sure that they will be very pleased to know that their hard work does not go unnoticed. I will also pass on your last comment to the Maintenance Manager for him to take necessary action. For now, we just look forward to welcoming you back to the DoubleTree Cambridge in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge

Address: Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge is a four star hotel surrounded by the River Cam, minutes from the city centre. The 122 refurbished en-suite bedrooms feature a plasma flat screen television, air-conditioning, mini fridge, iron & ironing board and laptop safe. Upgraded executive bedrooms and suites, including the Penthouse Suite are also available. Four air conditioned function rooms are ideal for large or small events and the refurbished Riverside Brasserie is perfect for fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hilton International Cambridge
Cambridge Hilton International
Doubletree Cambridge
Hilton Cambridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.