We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOTEL FEELS A BIT TIRED” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Cambridge
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“HOTEL FEELS A BIT TIRED”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were upgraded which was great as it was a special treat for my wife's birthday. The room was very large and looked good, but let down by TV that didn't work properly, couldn't get the radio on it - wife loves The Archers. Asked about getting the radio on the TV at reception and told "It's not working" and that was that!! I would be considering re-decoration of the room we stayed in 201 if it was my lounge at home.

The carpet in the public area of the hotel (just by the bar) at 5.30 pm had lots of crumbs and sugar packets on the floor (looked more like a railway station waiting room) and none of the staff seemed bothered. Not impressed!

Breakfast was OK and the food needed refreshing (well it did when I went to it). The waiting staff were very good and attentive - brightened up the morning.

Think it is a ripe-off that the hotel charges £18.50 to guests for parking over night - there is no alternative parking in the area so we are "trapped" and no free wi-fi.

Over all I would give it 7 out of 10

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Eric B
Thank you for your constructive review, this kind of feedback is very useful for us so that we can continually evaluate and improve the level of hospitality that we offer. And I couldn’t be any more mortified to see the poor level of hospitality and service you received from the reception and bar staff on this occasion. The TV and radio system are in fact in good working order, albeit a bit fiddly, and therefore the receptionist response was completely out of order for which I offer my most sincere apology for.
With regards to your comment about room 201, this was fully redecorated earlier this year so I can only presume this was not to your taste.
On a positive note, I was very glad to read your kind comments about the staff in the restaurant. I will pass on your comments to them, I am sure they will be glad to know that their hard work does not go unnoticed.
For now I can only assure you that all the relevant managers have already been informed of your comments and further staff training has already been scheduled so that this kind of service does not recur in the future, and I hope you will return to the hotel and experience this improvement for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    448
    218
    106
    34
See reviews for
235
464
62
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Awful hotel though in good location. The whole of the downstairs had a vile smell which a waitress in the bar said had been lingering for days but they did not know what was causing it. Slow reception staff, horrible décor and terribly overpriced. Nothing to recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Tinky2
Thank you for your review, feedback is always appreciated.
I was very sorry to read your comments about the smell in the bar. As you can appreciate this is a one off problem that we are tackling as we speak and soon will be resolved. However, I realise this is of no consolation to you and appreciate this may have marred your stay with us for which I offer my most sincere apologies. I can only hope that this will not deter you from returning to the hotel again as I am sure you will enjoy your next visit very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We called in yesterday for a round of pre lunch drinks. The service was excellent and the drinks upto standard, although the lemonade would be better on tap rather than bottled. The hotel has excellent views over the River Cam, with a large choice of outside seating. However the hotel could do with a refresh in the bar area, the floor etc is looking very worn!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Borderick
Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. Very pleased to read that you enjoyed your pre lunch drinks at the Twist Bar. I have duly noted your constructive comments about the bar area, as all of the comments and suggestions given to us they will be taken into consideration in the future. For now, I thank you once again for your time and wish to have you with us again maybe for an overnight stay in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
March
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Visited the hotel to cebrate a 90th birthday with a meal in the restaurant. Comfortable lounge area with great views of the river. The meal was good with exotic choices for the more adventurous. Portions on the main course could have been bigger. Service was good and polite. All the trappings for a birthday(cake balloons,rendition of "happy birthday" etc) were available. The only bad point was that there was a strong smell of sewage in part of the foyer between the bar and the main entrance(several people in our party noticed this). Not a good adverisement for a Hilton hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Norman K
Thank you for your review, I am really happy that the special 90th Birthday celebration at the restaurant was such a success. However, please accept our apologies if the smell at the bar almost marred your visit. This was due to a problem with the sewage system at the bar that we are working on and it will be resolved very soon. Once again my apologise to you and your party for this element of your visit, I really hope to welcome you back to the hotel and restaurant very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Though it is expensive, the Doubletree is perfectly located in the City Center on the river Cam, with some rooms opening up onto it on the ground floor. Large, well-apportioned rooms, comfortable beds and pleasant decor. Nice breakfast room, good food, lovely afternoon tea. Would definitely recommend! While you stay here be sure to punt down the river with some Pimms, visit The Eagle and tour the colleges.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear MarozaneS
Thank you for your review on the hotel and useful tips about things to do in the area. I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your visit to Cambridge. I look forward to welcoming you back to the DoubleTree Cambridge in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Just a short stay in a River View Room which is quite pricey -£200 + per night -and although the room is comfortable and well equipped but its quite small, no bigger than a Premier Inn, but with a small balcony. The big upside is the fabulous view across the river, it's quiet situation and ideal situation for centre of Cambridge, easily walkable to all the colleges, the chauffeur punts are two minutes away as are bike hire options and the market square. If you have a car it's £18.50 per night - you can street park nearby for free after c 6.30 pm - and breakfast is on top at c£12 pp if you book on check in or c£16 pp. this is a good hotel but it will cost you.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Alfie B
Thank you for your review. I was glad to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your concerns with pricing and we sincerely hope that this will not deterred you from returning to us in the future when I am sure you will enjoy your stay once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here for our first wedding anniversary and we have stayed before on a few occasions. Fantastic location, clean and well maintained. The reception team, although quite speedy, failed to guide us about newspaper, dinner amenities etc, and on checkout this was very brusque and not at all friendly! The staff in the bar were great, and nice to see plenty on a Saturday! Room lovely and clean. Breakfast was ok, disappointed that the juice is from concentrate as it is normally fresh when staying at aDouble Tree. Staff at breakfast were very attentive and overall the food good, though the black pudding was rather overdone which disappointed my husband. Other than this we had a great stay, and Im certain we will be back in the future!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear audrey b
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate constructive comments such as yours and I can assure you that all the relevant managers will be forwarded your remarks and appropriate actions will be taken where possible. In the meantime, we look forward to welcoming you back with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge

Address: Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge is a four star hotel surrounded by the River Cam, minutes from the city centre. The 122 refurbished en-suite bedrooms feature a plasma flat screen television, air-conditioning, mini fridge, iron & ironing board and laptop safe. Upgraded executive bedrooms and suites, including the Penthouse Suite are also available. Four air conditioned function rooms are ideal for large or small events and the refurbished Riverside Brasserie is perfect for fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hilton International Cambridge
Cambridge Hilton International
Doubletree Cambridge
Hilton Cambridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.