We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - well worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Cambridge
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

What a great hotel!!!

We stayed at the Hilton for a weekend away in February and it was simply brilliant!!!

The hotel is centrally located with parking close by. Some of the previous ratings have complained about the £18.50 parking charge but in the Hilton's defense, you can arrive any time on the day of check in and can leave as late as you want on the day you check out. I think it would be a struggle to find anywhere else as cheap to leave the car for two days in a city centre location.

We had a river view room which was great. All needs are catered for (although the mini bar is pricey!!) and the staff are very attentive and helpful.

The breakfast is a little pricey but good food and the bar is open until late and the bar staff were friendly and great and nothing was too much trouble.

My only slight 'niggle' was that the water pressure in the bathroom was a little low and the shower was disappointing.

We didn't try the leisure facilities but looking at the size of the pool building then don't book this based on spending hours swimming!

Great hotel, central location. Would book again without a doubt.

Room Tip: Pay extra to get a room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Mikeyd1982
Thank you for your review, I was very happy to read that you will return to the hotel based on your successful stay in February. And also very happy to see that you understood and concurred with our car parking charges. It is a pleasure to read constructive feedback such as yours and I know all our team members will be looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    456
    218
    107
    34
See reviews for
235
470
62
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sanur, Indonesia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

An excellent location for Sunday lunch having a lovely view over the River Cam however , the food was very disappointing. The starters on the buffet table are very limited in choice and only a choice of 3 salads for vegetarians! The mains were not presented on an appetising way , with the food looking rather sad! The joints were meagre, the salmon well baked and dry and the pasta dish looked like pigs' swill! The vegetables were also very scant... with no selection as with other buffets which I have eaten at.
The dessert cakes were all bought in and very synthetic. The fruit salad lacked interesting fruit.
All in all... very disappointing.
The area in which the food is served is too small and cramped.
Surely, someone could revamp this to make it a really good Sunday carvery lunch which is sadly lacking in Cambridge.
Not cheap at £26 per head.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Ann4all
Thank you for your honest feedback regarding your last Sunday Carvery at the DoubleTree Cambridge. We always endeavour to offer the highest level of service and it would appear that on this occasion we failed to meet your expectations, for which I offer my most sincere apology. We will take this opportunity to re-evaluate the experience we offer for Sunday Carvery and improve it to the best of our abilities. We are undergoing constant change to improve the guest experience and I hope to welcome you back in the future to experience this for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Pretty much bangin the middle of Cambridge this low rise hotel is situated on the side of one of Cambridge's waterways. All the ancient and not so ancient colleges are within working distance. A one night stay at the end of January can anticipate how busy it may get mid summer but the hotel appears to have a calm setting. A balcony room is a nice upgrade the beds are very comfortable and the breakfast buffet perfectly adequate. If I use this hotel at a different time of year I'll update this review but for now corporate Hilton is doing a decent job here.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Booked in for just 1 night, Room, Breakfast & Evening Meal - Very nice hotel our room had a balcony and river view, unfortunately we were not able to get the full benefit of this as it was at the end of January and freezing cold. The hotel is situated right in the heart of Cambridge and is just right for exploring this university city. There are sports facities including a pool but unfortunately we didn't make time to try these out. The cost is very expensive, our room is priced at £225 per night so unless you can negotiate a deal the costs can mount up. My biggest gripe was the fee for parking your car, almost £20 per night which seemed expensive seeing as you were already paying a high rate for the room.

Room Tip: The rooms with a river view are nice but you pay a premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Terry J
Thank you for your comments, glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Sorry to hear that your only disappointing fact was the car parking charges. These charges are comparable to other major city centre car parking charges and to that of the alternative option for a guest in using a NCP car park in Cambridge. It is also a very compatible value for many as guests can leave the car from the early hours of the day checking in and for the remaining of the day after they have checked out. We do ensure that these charges are clearly advertised both at the entrance to the car park and also on our own and third party booking websites so that alternate arrangements can be made if necessary. For now, I can only hope this will not deterred you from returning to the hotel as we sincerely look forward to having you with us again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I already have a reservation with the hotel fot eh week of 11th February, and I needed to change this so i could arrive one day earlier. It took 3 calls to the Cambridge number before I finally was able to sort this small matter out.

Not only is there a options to go through before you get to speak with soeone, but it ends up with an operator in the USA - who then puts you on hold while he phone the hotel in Cambridge! This happened 3 times and three times he either never came back or i was cut of by the US Hilton system!

Why make getting in contact so difficult! When I eventually did get through to the hotel, there was no mention of an appology - very poor customer service. I am not sure what to expect at this hotel based on this initial experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Our sincere apologies for the difficulties you experienced whilst trying to contact the hotel. It is Hilton standard to be put in contact with our central customer service operators for individual bookings, I am sorry if they were not helpful enough and mostly my sincere apologies if once diverted directly to the hotel no apology was offered. I am confident you will enjoy your stay at the DoubleTree Cambridge, our central location and great facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Having experienced Afternoon Tea at Raffles,The Ritz, Betty's of Harrogate and other smaller establishments I think I can judge quality and value for that quality and Doubletree fell far short on both counts.The bubbly was nice but the sandwiches had minimal fillings,the single scone each had to be sent back for something that looked the part,the 3 cakes were tasteless with two of them being miniscule and whilst my wife's pot of tea was acceptable my coffee was delivered in a cup though I was told I could have another one if I so wished (it seems as though the do not do pots).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Mike b
I was very sorry to read of your disappointing Afternoon Tea experience. I was very surprised at your comments as we generally receive excellent feedback from very happy customers. However, I can understand this was not the case on this occasion for which I offer my most sincere apology. Should you be kind enough to contact me directly I will endeavour to try to restore your faith in the DoubleTree Cambridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Spent a wonderful weekend in Cambridge for a wedding in December 2012. The location of this hotel is superb. It was walking distance to everything and has nice views, is easy to find etc etc. The service is spot on - polite, helpful, cheerful. The room was fine - a bit formulaic, and lacking in excitement but clean and we were upgraded upon arrival to a balcony room at no cost because of a party they had downstairs (this moved us further from the noise apparently). Breakfast was a buffet, with a chef doing his thing with eggs - again all good. My only issue, and it's big enough to have me 'downgrade' the overall rating to a 3, is the price - £200 a night (on online 'deal' that included breakfast thank goodness) and additional for parking (2X£17), which took me a while to get over. I have stayed in very similar standard hotels for less, or occasionally, much less. They also seem excessively concerned in the feedback they requested from me about whether the cookie I had received on checking-in had been warm. It was but I didn't really give a stuff - I would have preferred a minibar, room and parking that didn't leave me feeling slightly exploited. But, beyond that whinge - a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your constructive feedback. I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, liked the amenities and our team members’ service. We honestly hope you will not be deterred from returning to the hotel as we look forward to welcoming you back to the DoubleTree Cambridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge

Address: Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#9 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge is a four star hotel surrounded by the River Cam, minutes from the city centre. The 122 refurbished en-suite bedrooms feature a plasma flat screen television, air-conditioning, mini fridge, iron & ironing board and laptop safe. Upgraded executive bedrooms and suites, including the Penthouse Suite are also available. Four air conditioned function rooms are ideal for large or small events and the refurbished Riverside Brasserie is perfect for fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hilton International Cambridge
Cambridge Hilton International
Doubletree Cambridge
Hilton Cambridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.