We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cosy stay right in the heart of Cambridge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Cambridge
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A cosy stay right in the heart of Cambridge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Can be expensive but choose the right dates and it's a good value well located hotel. Situated right next to the Cam so perfect for summer cocktails on the lawn whilst watching the punts go by. Easy walking distance to the central shopping area and colleges. Good restaurants and bars are all accessible on foot. Good luck finding it if arriving by car, your navigation system might take you up a few closed roads before you eventually get there!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    454
    218
    106
    34
See reviews for
235
469
62
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holt, Norfolk
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Not the most atmospheric hotel I have stayed in, but its position is marvellous. the 1980 concrete architecture was austere and unwelcoming, never allowing for cosy corners or rustic appeal. it does allow though for wide windows and doors openiing onto the riverside lawns. rooms are fine. bar is afequate. very popular with weddings and conferences so can get busy. next door is well appointed health club.

Room Tip: breakfast is chaotic with small serving area in relation to numbers attending. not the best breakfa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This review is based on the customer service & website and NOT on the hotel itself. You will see why:

We wanted to book one room for 4 adults for one night. Several websites, including the Doubletree's own, allowed us to book a family room for 4 adults, despite the room description stating it was for 2 adults and 2 children with 3 beds and a rollaway. We weren't bothered at all about the beds, but thinking it would be best to check, I rang Reservations. They checked their details and stated that indeed the Family room was for 2 adults and 2 children. I explained that the website would allow us to book for 4 adults and would there be any actual reason why 4 adults couldn't use the family room. He could not answer this, just continually "checking" and then repeating the same thing. I even asked what would have happened had we just booked online without ringing. Would they have turned us away when we arrived? He couldn't answer this either and since many of the reduced prices are non-refundable, it would be interesting to know how they would deal with that. I suggested that if this was the case, they should change their website booking system so that 4 adults couldn't book a family room. He said he would pass on that information. Needless to say nothing has changed - you can still make these bookings.

The room was available on a flash sale, so time was of the essence. I therefore abandoned the pointless telecon and went back to the website, to send an email. I explained everything again, asking for someone in authority to kindly respond and give us a definitive answer as to whether we could or could not book. This was several weeks ago and I have heard NOTHING. No-one has responded in any way.

Meanwhile I have continually checked availability. I was happy to pay full price once I had a response. But today - all family rooms have gone. So it's too late.

Hence the Poor rating. We would have liked to have had the opportunity to find out whether the hotel itself was any good, but sadly this won't happen as their customer service is terrible, their website is contradictory, their information is misleading and their email system is pointless.

Travelodge it is then

I thought I would write a review as the reviews seem to get responses - so let's wait and see...

Room Tip: Don't ring for advice - your guess is a good as theirs (probably better)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear TNClub
Thank you for taking time to leave a review despite not been able to stay with us and enjoying all the facilities and services we offer. We really appreciate you bringing this problem to our attention. You were right in saying that the website does allow to book 4 adults into a family room, however this is not actually possible as we could not fit more than 2 adults and 2 grown up children in it. I therefore have already asked our head office to look into it and change this where possible.
With regards to your comment about communication, unfortunately we have not received any message about your enquiry, my most sincere apology if this breakdown in communication has left you feeling we do not care as it is a very strong believe of Hilton to respond to every query and therefore I am sorry if we have failed you on this occasion.
For now I can only wish you an enjoyable time in Cambridge and hope that next time you will come and stay with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Cambridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed there on for a weekend in November. Got the room on a flash sale. Room was nice. Breakfast was very good, with a wide range of food. Bar staff are very slow, even when empty! Good location with not far to walk to town. Would stay again if needed to.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I was there last year on a business trip and my best friend recommended me to stay at Doubletree by Hilton. Quite impressive accommodation with great services and facility. The location is closed by everything. The breakfast is excellent. The most impressive point would be their welcome signature homemade chocolate chips cookies....really yummy

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carshalton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Really nice hotel but watch out for the car park charge £17:50 per night and wi fi £15:00 per day why charge for wi fi ?

When will these Hotels realize that they alienate their guests with these scandalous charges why not just add them in to the room rate.

We ate in the hotel on the first evening and we were the only guests booked in for the evening surely this would also indicate to the management that their prices were excessive and not worth the money.

As usual with most British hotels nowadays there was a communication breakdown with the staff at breakfast time, when we requested some brown sauce though on show no one understood the word brown! or HP

Room Tip: Book a riverside view (breathtaking!!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear thomas I
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking time to leave a review. I was sorry to read of your disagreement with our car park charges. These charges are comparable to other major city centre car parking charges and to that of the alternative option for a guest in using a NCP car park in Cambridge. It is also a very compatible value for many as guests can leave the car from the early hours of the day checking in and for the remaining of the day after they have checked out. We do ensure that these charges are clearly advertised both at the entrance to the car park and also on our own and third party booking websites so that alternate arrangements can be made if necessary.
With regards to your comment about the WiFi charges, not all of our guests use the internet whilst at the hotel and therefore we think that we shouldn’t penalise them by including this charges into the room rate reason why we charge them separately. However, we do offer complimentary use of our Business centre on the ground floor, with free use of our computers, printing and WiFi access. My apologies if this was not explained to you on check in.
I can only hope that these issues and the small incident in the restaurant would not have marred your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We have stayed several times at the Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge and have never been disappointed. The location is great for the City and the views over the river and the punting station are wonderful.
The breakfast is particularly good with a great choice of fruits, pancakes, granola etc and all the usual hot food.
It has excellent car parking and of course you get the usual warm cookie on arrival.
The bar and lounge are very comfortable and welcoming.
I noted the comment in a review about the stair carpet being frayed on the first set of stairs and this is true.
It is not cheap but we paid in advance to get a price that was a lot less than some paid in other reviews.

Room Tip: Views over the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge

Address: Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#9 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge is a four star hotel surrounded by the River Cam, minutes from the city centre. The 122 refurbished en-suite bedrooms feature a plasma flat screen television, air-conditioning, mini fridge, iron & ironing board and laptop safe. Upgraded executive bedrooms and suites, including the Penthouse Suite are also available. Four air conditioned function rooms are ideal for large or small events and the refurbished Riverside Brasserie is perfect for fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hilton International Cambridge
Cambridge Hilton International
Doubletree Cambridge
Hilton Cambridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.