We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good quality, expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Cambridge
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, good quality, expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

It's a relatively expensive hotel but good quality. The room size is generous - the standard international size rather than the smaller rooms common in Britain/Europe. To my eye, the hotel looks tacky and dated from the outside but the interior is much better. Breakfast food and service was very good, and the dining room provides a great view of people punting/cycling/walking along the river.

They offer paid in-room internet. I always find it irritating to find an expensive hotel charging (for a fairly poor service at a very poor rate) for internet access when so many other places offer it for free. I think the rate they charge is well out-of-step with current domestic/commercial rates and the speed and download limits do not compare at all well.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise_Hill_11, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Dear Calendar2000
Thank you for your review further to your recent stay with us. I am pleased you have experienced the high standard of service we aim to achieve and thank you for your kind comments regarding the quality of the hotel and the lovely views you can see from the bedrooms and from the dining areas. We offer complimentary high speed internet access in our Business Centre. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    497
    237
    120
    37
See reviews for
252
508
64
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

The location could not be bettered: overlooking the river in a quiet corner, yet minutes away from the centre and all the sights. We were upgraded on arrival to a riverside room with balcony - a beautiful view and very quiet at this time (Spring) of year. The room was not particularly large but very well equipped to usual Hilton standard with a sparkling bathroom. My only slightly negative thought was about the layout of the beds : we had a twin bedded room, in which the beds were right up against each other. Not a problem for us ( mother and daughter on this trip) but might be a bit too close for friends or family members who are happy to share a room but not quite a bed!

We didn't have time to use the gym or swimming pool but we did have a quick look and it seemed well equipped and attended - I will plan better next time!

The staff that we encountered (reception, waiting staff and concierge) were all very professional and friendly and I look forward to using the hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise_Hill_11, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Dear Valise
Thank you for your review further to your recent stay with us. I am pleased to learn you found the location to be excellent and you appreciated the upgrade to a Riverview room. I would also like to thank you for your kind comments regarding our Team Members. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again and I do hope you will have the time to use our Living Well Leisure Club.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

We went for a weekend family celebration . I initially baulked at the cost -£150 plus for a standard room - but felt that the convenience of staying where the celebrations were being held justified the extra . The room was small and overlooked the car-park, not a sin in itself but one expected more for the price. The room had been refurbished to a pleasantly bland level but was disappointed to discover that the plumbing was way below standard. Tepid water coming out at slightly more than adribble from the shower was annoying. Neither my wife or myself are particularly large people but had barely enough room to stand in the bath whilst enduring the shower let alone sit in it. The poor delivery of water was explained away as A) Its always low pressure in the morning as so many people are using showers at the same time and B) There's a problem with this thermostat. So why was the room let with faulty equipment? Breakfast was pretty bog standard and poor both in terms of presentation and quality. The dry curling edges of the sliced (tasteless) cheese did not exactly provide an appetising start to the day. All in all a sub-standard and over-priced offering from a hotel chain that should and could do a lot better.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise_Hill_11, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Dear Angerry
Thank you for taking the time to write a review further to your recent stay with us. Please accept my apologies that you did not enjoy your breakfast experience and that you had poor water pressure in your bedroom. These matters will be investigated and corrective actions implemented. I would welcome the opportunity to discuses the issues personally, please contact me on louise.hill@hilton.com. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

I travel the world on business and I generally know within a few minutes of arrival if a hotel is well managed or not. The Cambridge DoubleTree is clearly very well run. All the staff we encountered were cheerful and helpful and the place had a great buzz to it. We were very kindly upgraded to rooms overlooking the river and it was the perfect location for a romantic getaway. The pool was a bonus and very quiet in the early mornings. Very good quality breakfast as well.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise_Hill_11, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
Dear Vodaman
Thank you for your recent review further to your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to read great comments about our Team Members and the atmosphere created. I am pleased we were able to upgrade you to a Riverview room on your romantic getaway weekend. Thank you for your compliments and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhubaneswar, India
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

location by the river is really nice. although it was winter, the view it provided from the balcony is awesome. i enjoyed every minute of my stay there. initially there was some issue with the toilet, which was promptly attended to

Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise_Hill_11, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Dear Suman_sasmal
Thank you for your recent review. I am very pleased you enjoyed every minute of your recent stay with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

Nice room ! Good service at breakfast and bar ! Just what you shd get at a 4* Hilton ! However !
Parking charges at all Hilton are overpriced !

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise_Hill_11, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
AwellkenFace
Thank you for posting a review. I was pleased to learn you had an enjoyable experience with us. We do hope we can welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

our recent stay was very poor we were givin a room that was not ready the bed was not made there were drinks still on the side there are no curtains in the rooms the service in the restaurant was so poor we ended up leaving our table without the food being brought out as we had waited 2 hours would never stay again and after complaining in the morning they offered to give us the car parking for free

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTCambridge_10, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, responded to this review, February 16, 2011
Dear Ross501
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to our hotel. I am very sorry to learn that we checked you into a room which had not been serviced and that you had a poor dining experience with us. As the matter has been resolved directly with you now we do look forward to welcoming you back to Doubletree Cambridge soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge

Address: Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#9 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge is a four star hotel surrounded by the River Cam, minutes from the city centre. The 122 refurbished en-suite bedrooms feature a plasma flat screen television, air-conditioning, mini fridge, iron & ironing board and laptop safe. Upgraded executive bedrooms and suites, including the Penthouse Suite are also available. Four air conditioned function rooms are ideal for large or small events and the refurbished Riverside Brasserie is perfect for fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hilton International Cambridge
Cambridge Hilton International
Doubletree Cambridge
Hilton Cambridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.