We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not acceptable and extremely poor value.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Cambridge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Cambridge Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Cambridge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Trumpington Street, Cambridge CB2 1PY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 34 Hotels in Cambridge
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not acceptable and extremely poor value.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Car Park is now all but lost to a multi-storey construction. This offers excellent building site views (see pics) as well as a nice vehicle trap – even if manage to get a space you are trapped by service vehicles (as I witnessed happened to another guest as I checked out) or new arrivals in despair performing a 40 point turn.
Staff friendly, but reception couldn't even correctly direct me to the nearest street parking.
The room was bad and very tired. The gap at the end of the bed wouldn't be acceptable in any household - so why it is acceptable in a hotel room? The bathroom had two cracked panes of glass and exposed rotten wood.
Given the cost of the room this was extremely poor value.
However, bedding was nice and clean and breakfast was good value.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    30
    43
    29
    29
See reviews for
23
50
6
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Adequate for a short stay but no loger. Although well situated the hospitality is average. Old beds, old showers, lighting unsatisfactory etc... And needs a good clean!
Breakfast very good though and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Road at the front, building site at the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband & I used a groupon voucher for lunch today. This is the 3rd time we have given the Royal Cambridge a go.
Once again disappointing, both ordered gammon which looked like one piece clearly cut in half between the two of us, it was very over cooked and chewy (not the quality you would expect despite whether groupon deal or not!) the veg was not al dente it was raw.
I ordered lemon meringue with fruit compote ( 1 strawberry cut in 4 pieces)
The staff appear nonchalant. The décor is tired, in bad need of refurb.
We will not return.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Good location for visiting Cambridge and one of the few hotels to have parking on site although there are only 25 spaces so a charge is made. Good transport in city and surrounding areas so arriving by train would be a good option.
Welcoming staff in Reception, Bar and Restaurant. The room seemed to be well insulated from noises within and outside.
Dinner was excellent, with a few unusual items besides the norm. Breakfast was a buffet affair with a wide selection of cereals, fruit, various breads, meats and cheeses on the cold side. On the hot side were bacon, sausages, tomatoes, mushrooms and eggs. All of good quality.
Our room, on the first floor, overlooked a road going into the centre past the Fitzwilliam Museum. The room and ensuite were spotless. However, the décor was tired but there was a notice to guests in the main hotel lobby that refurbishment was underway having recently been taken over.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel is actually around the back and the entrance can easily be missed. Parking is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stay in this hotel quite frequently and in the past it has often been very poor. The staff have always tried hard with what is quite a run-down hotel. Recently things have improved and while there is still some way to go, it is going in the right direction. The staff continue to make the stay as enjoyable as possible. Breakfast (and breakfast staff) are pretty good.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear philandjude
Thank you for your post and I am delighted you both enjoyed your stay and that you can see improvements coming along nicely. As always it is great to read positive comments about the team. We do look forward to welcoming you back again when you are next in Cambridge
Sincerely
Stewart Rushton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east mids
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Once again - an example of a lovely building run down and run with a mixture of nonchalance and dismissal. inexplicably full on a saturday night and £105 for a single at the top of a fire exit next to the neighbouring building site with filthy bathroom, tired furnishings and a TV which overhwhelms the room. The bar area was furnished with a combination of bizarre reupholstered garden furniture and Laura Ashley sofas. The restaurant was understaffed and meals were average at the outside. The young man on reception did try and find me a better room but I would steer clear in the future.....

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear millie239
Thank you for your post and I am sorry you did not enjoy any aspect of your stay. We are currently updating a number of areas in the hotel a fact a number of your colleagues have commented on a lot of change for the better. We did move you rooms as requested so you were not facing Trumpington Street, however regarding the James Dyson building there were no works taking place so there was no sound beyond normal city centre noise.
Sincerely
Stewart Rushton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a lovely hotel - spent 2 nights there recently visiting family in the area. Our room was spotless (Room 101) and really comfortable couldn't have wished for better. We also ate breakfast and dinner in the hotel - all really good. Would not hesitate to return to this hotel in the future and have recommended it to friends and family. A big thank you as well to all the staff who were friendly and attentive. Will visit again.

Room Tip: Had room 101 at the back of the hotel - building work is going on opposite but was finished by 5 and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Lynne M
Thank you for your post and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always nice to read great comments about the team and your dining in the hotel. We appreciate the recommendations to family and friends and look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Cambridge hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Cambridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Cambridge Hotel

Address: Trumpington Street, Cambridge CB2 1PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 34 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Cambridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Royal Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Royal Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Cambridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.