We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of University Arms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added University Arms Hotel to your Saves list
University Arms Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Regent Street, Cambridge CB2 1AD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Cambridge
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

I visited this Hotel during the May Bank Holiday with my family. The service was beyond reproach with friendly and welcoming staff in every area of this hotel. Car parking is not reserved so you need to get in early for a space. The location is right in the Centre of Cambridge and withinn easy reach of all the City's attractions, of which there are many. The hotel needs to be refurbished in bedroom areas especially but even so it was clean with lovely bed and fresh linen every day .Breakfast had a wide choice and service was very good Reception staff very helpful Whereever you went in this hotel whether it was in the restaurant, bars or even in the corridors all the staff greeted you with pleasantries and went out of their way to be helpful without having to ask. Great place to stay

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    238
    239
    197
    140
See reviews for
107
360
53
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
the sunny side
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

A very pleasant hotel - service is excellent - very friendly and helpful staff. Food is 5 star standard and a good menu choice. The bedroom was very clean although a touch tired in places and could do with a makeover. All in all a very pleasant atmosphere/ambience but would be an absolutely fantastic hotel if it had a decor revamp!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

Stayed at the University Arms Hotel for the first weekend in May with my boyfriend. Parking was a little difficult but once in the hotel lobby we were warmly greeted by the reception staff.

On first impression the hotel had a tired look about it and could do with an update. But on the whole it was very clean and comfortable. The bedroom and bathroom was welcoming and cleaned to a high standard. A good night's sleep was had.

Breakfast was to a good standard and again the staff were very efficient and friendly.

Overall we had a lovely experience in this hotel and would recommend to all friends and family.

The location of the hotel was great for exploring Cambridge.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

Stayed here in April for 2 nights. Everything fantastic. Staff are wonderful and this is one of the few hotels in the world i can find no fault with.We stayed with my partner and this stay was really special for us.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

My husband and I have just returned from a weekend stay in this hotel.The staff are so friendly and welcoming you feel at home immediately.The food was excellent but most important was the relaxed atmosphere.A most enjoyable stay and we will be staying there again when we visit Cambridge.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

I stayed at the University Arms because my usual hotel (The Regent) was full. I was lucky to get a cheap, last-minute deal with booking.com so didn't feel like complaining, but really, this is a tired, creaky and fusty hotel. No central heating in the room - just an electric plug-in radiator, and only one socket in with an extension cable. The furniture was ancient (I stabbed my finger on a nail sticking out of the upholstery) and the carpet was in that red-patterned, old peoples home style (possibly the same carpet as when I last stayed here 21 years ago). Everywhere I walked, the floorboards creaked and it seemed impossible to close any bedroom door without making a loud bang. Plus points were that the room was clean, the bed comfortable and the breakfast good. Excellent location too, so if you get a last minute deal, then it's certainly an option.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

Before even arriving in the hotel itself we were shocked at the parking fee for residents of £14 per day. We enquired why there was a fee for residents of the hotel and the lady on reception answered that all hotels in Cambridge charge a fee and that the De Vere was one of the cheapest – just because you can charge, doesn’t mean you should. My husband therefore drove until he found a residential road without any restrictions and made the half hour journey back on foot through the snow – this saved £28 so was worth it.

We had a room on the third floor at the front of the hotel, the road below was noisy from traffic and pedestrians - the promotional pictures on the website show the rear of the hotel, overlooking a large park, so it could br assumed that this is how the hotel looks but the front is a concrete eyesore. We asked to move to a room away from the street, but were told that there were no other rooms available.

During the evening the lift developed an awful groaning noise every time it was in use, which we could hear from our room, which was some distance from the lift, so I can only sympathise with the rooms right next to the lift. This, coupled with the traffic and drunken noise from the street, meant we had very little sleep.

One positive is that the breakfast was good, but probably nothing you would not get at another hotel. After breakfast we spoke with reception again, and asked to change rooms due to the noise from the street and the lift, and we were given a room in the old part of the hotel at the back overlooking the park, away from the noise we endured the night before.

Upon our return the room was absolutely freezing. There was a radiator that was stone cold. There was a wall mounted fan heater that only seemed to blow cold air, and although it said there were full usage instructions in the guests' information booklet in the room, there weren't any. There was also a plug-in electric heater that didn't look safe to use as there was loose parts within it and the plastic on the outside had melted. After enduring the cold with 4 layers of clothing and 2 duvets we called down to reception and shortly a plug-in oil heater was delivered and this took the edge off the chill. On a positive note, the room was much quieter.

We did write to the manager with all the issues given, but the response was that we would be given special attention next time we stayed, but we will not be doing that. There are plenty of other hotels in the same area, and in the same price range, so if we were to stay in Cambridge again, we would opt for these.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to University Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Arms Hotel

Address: Regent Street, Cambridge CB2 1AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — University Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of medieval Cambridge, set back from the hustle and bustle of the town and bathed in green lawn lies this rather special historic hotel. It’s an education in quirky British charm and is famous for its hospitality, not to mention its guests over the years from the Beatles to the Krays. Luxurious rooms full with character await, spiral staircases and of course all of Cambridge’s attractions right on your marble doorstep. Take a punt on University Arms and you won’t be disappointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your University Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Vere University Arms

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.