We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madingley Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Madingley Hall to your Saves list
Madingley Hall
5.0 of 5 Specialty Inn   |   Madingley, Cambridge CB23 8AQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice place for a wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We held our daughters wedding here the end of March, we couldn't fault the staff, food or the venue.A lot of the guests stayed over until Sunday morning and all bar none said how well they had slept and what a fantastic place Madingley Hall was.
We were lucky with the weather and were able to hold the pre dinner drinks outside where some of the the guests played croquet and the rest enjoyed the ambiance of the beautiful grounds. I would recommend this venue to anyone for a special occasion or as a one night stop over to explore Cambridge.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    29
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
17
11
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
cambridge
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This review is about a staff evening party that was held at this venue in one of the dining rooms. On approach the building gives you the Harry Potter feeling and indeed there was magic inside not only from the magician who entertained us at dinner but from the excellence of the surroundings and the level of service and attitude of the staff. The food was top rate and the service slick, Did not stay at the hotel although rooms were available if required. This is an ideal venue for a staff function

Room Tip: Dining only
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
647 reviews 647 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
669 helpful votes 669 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I am told that this wonderful house was the one time lodgings of Edward VII (then Prince of Wales). It retains many original features and now provides accommodation for lesser mortals, like me! The bedrooms are comfortable and have showers and a desk. The dining room is smart and the food is very good.

My only gripe is the heating, which was strictly timed when I stayed there and the room got a little chilly in later evening.

The gardens are also worth a mention. They were laid out by the great Capability Brown and are quite beautiful.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

stayed here two days and one night,a lovely building in magnificent grounds.As others have said this is not a hotel but for me this is part of its appeal.This is a great base to visit cambridge,it has ample parking,floodlit with cctv but costs about £12 each way in a taxi into cambridge centre which is about 10 minutes away.Please remember though although this sounds like it could quickly mount up,using taxis you have no parking to pay or find a spot for that matter and also i found the cost of staying there very reasonable(laterooms.com).The hall itself is a magnificent building,the room i stayed in was more than adequate,comfy,clean,wifi and tv. breakfast on this occasion was served in the terrace bar due to a function being held in the usual room downstairs,this was no hardship as the food was good quality and plentiful with a good range of english,continental, juices and hot drinks and newspapers too, i wanted for nothing.All the staff i encountered from arrival to departure were friendly and polite and nothing was any trouble at all. Madingley hall is a lovely quiet retreat from a hectic lifestyle,you will leave feeling refreshed and happy,its for this reason i will be staying again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I stayed here for one night last week on business and only paid £55 inc full English breakfast via late rooms. This is a wonderful hotel and although the rooms are a little basic they contain all that you could need. The hotel is a little devoid of atmosphere in the evening as it appears to mainly cater for daytime seminars etc.......But no problem you can sit in the Bar or do what I did and walk three minutes down the road to the superb Three Horseshoes Gastro pub. All in all a really great value night which I really enjoyed.........Excellent service and great value this is highly recommended if you like me hate plastic hotels on motorway junctions..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I booked & arrived late at Madingley Hall but was very well accommodated. I hadn't eaten & the gentleman at reception offered to drive out & get me something which was very kind, though I declined.

This is NOT a Hotel so don't expect one. The rooms are COnference Centre furbished, basic but clean with towels, tea/coffee & a TV. There is a bar but when I went on my own thinking I may strike up a conversation, it was very quiet- only a table of people at a conference talking 'shop'.

Madingley came into it's own in the morning. The breakfast was fresh, tasty, local produce, proper butcher sausages & bacon, all really delicious. Before I left I took a walk around the garden which is just stunning. I highly recommend taking the time to do this, it's a hidden gem. I couldn't appreciate the grounds as I arrived in the dark but it really lifted the spirit, taking in the fresh air & they grounds.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston, UK
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I organised a lunch for 95 people at Madingley Hall in October 2013. It is aqbeautiful building set in superb grounds on the outskirts of Cambridge, so there is plenty of parking. The event organiser knows exactly what she is doing, and is very good at giving guidance and help to those organising large events. The staff were very helpful when we were trying to set up the event, and, when we arrived, everything was ready for a group of us to put the finishing touches to the main dining room. Service was very efficient, and always given with a smile.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madingley Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madingley Hall

Address: Madingley, Cambridge CB23 8AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Madingley Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Madingley Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madingley Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.