We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Fish and Chips in Cambridge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sea Tree

The Sea Tree
13-14 The Broadway | Mill Road, Cambridge CB1 3AH, England
01223 414349
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 526 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: $12 - $23
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, British, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: The Sea Tree is an alternative fish bar offering traditional fish and chips alongside a menu of other fresh, healthy, sustainable and cooked to order seafood dishes, to eat in or takeaway. We buy our fish from Billingsgate Market to ensure we get the very best and freshest fish and change our menu depending on the season.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Fish and Chips in Cambridge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Fish and chips are now back on top of our take away dinner menu thanks to the Sea Tree. In the past couple of years I have only had one disappointing take away, and that was to say it was as good as any other chippie in Cambridge.

The fish is always fresh, the batter always light and crispy. Take away or eat in, very rustic style, it is a great place for more than just fish and chips. They also do an amazing fish pie or fish stew. The sea bass was delicious, pan fried with a salad.

You can even see the fresh fish at the counter before they cook it. The whole family love this place! If only they did deliveries.....

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    31
    11
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best place I have ever been too for food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The staff were simply amazing, however they couldn't beat the jaw dropping food! I had the grilled mackerel (which was cooked just to my specific taste) with chips and mushy peas. The waiting staff although busy attending to my table every 20 minutes to check everything was in order and if we would like additional drinks ect.. They were so polite and tentative!


Overall a big 10/10.


I'm becoming a local.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Great Takeaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Encouraged by its reputation, we ventured further afield than our local chippie to try The Sea Tree, and it was worth the effort. In fact, I'm surprised that some people on here have had some disappointing experiences. Very good fish (we tried, cod, haddock and a salmon & crab fishcake) and excellent chips. And a word about the presentation and the service (yes, at a takeaway counter!) which was excellent ...give that girl a rise.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“One of the best places for fish in Cambridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

If you visit "The Sea Tree" for dinner, be aware that you will be sitting in the simple surroundings of a fish & chip shop and take away on the north-eastern part of Mill Road. But I suppose because this fish & chip shop is a takeaway, sells fresh fish and is a little restaurant, it's three activities combined achieve the volume guaranteeing fresh, quality fish. This also makes it unique in Cambridge.

A main course and a drink, beer or wine will cost about £10-£15. While this may seem expensive for a small fillet and crushed potatoes within a fish & chip shop, I think the quality of the fish and presentation on the plate warrant it. Also the portions on anything traditionally fried or it's superb Fish-burger are far larger.

The Sea Tree is unlike any other restaurant in Cambridge, I wasn't sure if I should score it with four or five stars. But the friendly staff, who came back every couple of minutes to ask if everything was fine and the quality of the food I received on my £12 per person bill swung it for five stars!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worst Chip Shop Ever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Rude staff, disgusting, over cooked, soggy chips. Will not be back. Over priced, really not worth the money. I dont recommend this place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sea Tree also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Sea Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sea Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.