We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced and poor value for money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cambridge City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cambridge City Hotel to your Saves list
Cambridge City Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Downing Street, Cambridge CB2 3DT, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Cambridge
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Over priced and poor value for money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is significantly overpriced for what you receive. We booked a family room for four. There were only three bath towels, two glasses - why can they not adjust the room according to number of occupants? Lighting in room poor with no bedside light to read by. Shower has peeling paint on ceiling and dirty grout. Cooked breakfast was cold. Restaurant manager at breakfast very attentive but no excuse for cold food. This is not a four star offering and at £170 for a room a rip-off. Location is good but standards have fallen. This is our fifth stay here but never again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelationscb2, Guest Relations Manager at Cambridge City Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear FTG1513 - Thank you for your feedback. It was disappointing to read that you had not enjoyed your stay with us. To briefly answer some of your points. You may have read in previous reviews, that the hotel will begin a refurbishment programme this year. Bedrooms/bathrooms are areas that will be in the programme. Lighting, we are currently updating the lighting in all bedrooms. With thanks again for your time and feedback. Kind regards Angela Chapman - Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    426
    196
    87
    40
See reviews for
213
350
50
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Fiona the friendly hostess and Syed (spelling?) looked after me very well.
Syed cooked me eggs Benedict that was simply just great and really tasty to eat. The range of complementary hot drinks and friendly staff keep me coming back for more

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelationscb2, Guest Relations Manager at Cambridge City Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear willmeyes - Thank you for your kind comments on our breakfast team and other team members - it is appreciated. With kind regards Angela Chapman - Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I booked this hotel for some colleagues as we were meeting with customers nearby. This hotel was chosen as the least expensive of the higher priced hotels offered on line. What sold me on it was the reservations lady who was a delight to deal with and she came up with a great pricing deal.

I drove all the way from Scotland so was pleased on arrival at the hotel ( no thanks to TomTom :-) that a pleasant young man named Sam took posession of the car and valet parked it for me. Reception is on the first floor and there is an escalator for those less mobile wrinklies like me.

Check in was fast, instructions were clear and friendly and the room was clean, spacious and the beds were very comfortable. The showers were always hot and there was a plentiful supply of tea coffee and some biccies.

The bar lounge was comfortable and spacious enough to settle down to access work mails and hold quick business meetings.

All in all a very good hotel and certainly one I would consider again, although one slight niggle is the car parking charge of £18 per night however when you take into account the valet parking it's probably worth it.

Just make certain when you hand your car keys over to a young chap at the front door that he does ACTUALLY work for the hotel !! :-)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelationscb2, Guest Relations Manager at Cambridge City Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Ken M - Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your recent stay here at the Cambridge City Hotel. I was pleased to read that your enjoyed your stay. Thank you too for naming my colleague Sam from Concierge. As with all guest comments your feedback has been shared with all. Thanks again for your time. Kind regards Angela Chapman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

It's OK, but no more. Thin walls - I suppose it is a nasty 60s building that has been spruced up. Breakfast is one of those buffets where some things are fresh and nice, others not so much. Though there was a very friendly chap making omelettes. Cambridge just is short of good hotels, so I suppose market. pressures are slight. it shows here: it's OK - no more than that!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelationscb2, Guest Relations Manager at Cambridge City Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Steve W - Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. Your comments are noted. Good or bad, all comments are been shared with the team. With kind regards Angela Chapman Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Spent there a few days before Christmas with friends... and we absolutely loved it!!!!

The staff were all friendly and helpful. The rooms were very spacious (for Cambridge standards) and very clean. Though we were there during the festive season and there were loads of parties going on, we were never had an issue with the noise.

The fact that the hotel was really central gave us the freedom to go back to leave the shopping bags or have a quick rest before continuing our walks in the city.

ohhh... and the breakfast was FANTASTIC!!!!!!!

Cambridge is a beautiful place to visit and this hotel has excellent standards whether one visits it for business or pleasure!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelationscb2, Guest Relations Manager at Cambridge City Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Maria L - Just a note to thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. Delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, especially breakfast. We are very lucky to be in such a central position! With thanks again for your feedback and kind words of appreciation. Kind regards Angela Chapman, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The location is very central; and was perfect for us visiting my daughter (it was less than a 5 minute walk to her). We got a decent rate and a room which could take 3 people. The room was large and comfortable. We didn't use the £18 a night parking as we didn't need it. Breakfast was not included in our rate, and adding it was expensive (£16.95), so we ate breakfast elsewhere. A minor point; the TV and system was a bit old; not many channels or a way to get a guide of what is on. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelationscb2, Guest Relations Manager at Cambridge City Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Mark B - A note of thanks for your feedback on your stay. Your comments are duly noted. Your TV's are one of the items on our 'agenda' for replacing. Pleased too that, overall you enjoyed your stay. With thanks and kind regards Angela Chapman, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a few times through the years. It is very central in Cambridge, with many pubs and restaurants and the colleges within walking distance.
This time I arrived quite late; 10:30PM. Not a problem to get a club sandwich and a good pint at the bar. Thanks to Daniel for great service and company. One suggestion for the bar is to take in more local beers. We don't come to the UK to drink Carlsberg, Heinekken, or Beck's.
The breakfast is very good by UK standards. Full englsih breakfast, choice of eggs, cereals, fruit, all in a practical buffet. And not least, the tables are not tiny, like in so many other hotels.
As mentioned initially, I have stayed at this hotel a few time through the last 10 years. 10 years ago I would have rated this hotel 4/5. The rooms are still the same as 10 years ago, and new carpets and some fresh paint would be most welcome. My room was also missing a hair dryer. On the positive side, the rooms are quite spacious, and the beds large and comfortable. Nonetheless, all in all, you expect more at a price of 145£.
I will try other hotels in the area, but would be happy to return here when the rooms have been given a makeover.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelationscb2, Guest Relations Manager at Cambridge City Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear RolfR846 - Thank you for your comments on your recent stay. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay overall. I also wanted to let you know, that you feedback on the beer that we serve in the lounge bar, has been taken on board and we have looked to stocking more 'local' beers. Thank you too for your praise about my colleague Daniel. With thanks again for your time and feedback. Kind regards Angela Chapman, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cambridge City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge City Hotel

Address: 20 Downing Street, Cambridge CB2 3DT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#6 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cambridge City Hotel enjoys a prime location in the heart of the City Centre. Located within walking distance from Kings College and the many universities with easy access to Cambridge Business Park. Punting or Cycling offers the ideal way to view the city. Travel to Ely or historic market towns such as St Ives or Huntingdon. Newmarket Races hosts some of the racing calendars most prestigious racing programmes. Imperial War Museum at Duxford home of the World War II Museum, Concorde, and other famous planes such as Spitfire and Lancaster bomber. Cambridge City Hotel rooms and Suites are available at your request. High Speed Internet access and WiFi is offered in all bedrooms, meeting rooms and hotel s lounge. The Fitness Room offers Cardiovascular and muscle toning equipment, with a sauna also available. The Conference Centre has four well appointed meeting rooms ideal for business and social events. Altogether Cambridge is the Educated Choice. The Grand Arcade is an exciting new city centre retail development that brings a 21st Century Shopping experience to Cambridge. On-site Car Parking available at a charge of £22.00 Per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, EasyToBook and Priceline so you can book your Cambridge City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Cambridge
Crowne Plaza Hotel Cambridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cambridge City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.