We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quality quality quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fitzwilliam Museum

Fitzwilliam Museum
Trumpington St., Cambridge CB2 1RB, England
01223 332900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 100 Attractions in Cambridge
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum houses vast collections of antiquities from ancient Egypt, Greece and Rome, including exhibits of English and European pottery and glass, furniture, clocks, Chinese jades, and ceramics from Japan and Korea.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“quality quality quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

, paintings , porcelain , sculpture , Renoir, Cezanne, Degas, Pisarro, Boudin , Monet, Seurat, Sisley , Gaugin

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    560
    211
    33
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great variety”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We spent most of Sunday 31 March in the Museum and only manged to cover the art gallery

The displays and information were excellent

The cafe was very busy with a lot of resrved tables which seemed odd and therefore we didn't sample that

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“hours on entertainment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

great museum and well set out. good for kids also.
small cafe so even when not busy may have to go outside to cafes for a break.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
130 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Saved from the cold”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

You can spend an hour or a day in the Firtzwilliam Museum, it is a wonderful place. Being too cold to go anywhere outside I just popped in for an hour to look at the two new exhibitions. It was a great Easter retreat. The Quentin Blake exhibition was small but interesting and the exhibition of Chinese porcelain was absolutely stunning. As usual the tearoom was busy but compelling and after my coffee I had to work hard not to buy any of the tempting items from the museum shop. The Fitz saved me from the bad weather once again!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Top class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This museum ranks alongside any museum I have visited.Lots to see and lots to learn.a place you could easily re-visit.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fitzwilliam Museum also viewed

 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Fitzwilliam Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitzwilliam Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.