We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Bistro Cafe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fitzwilliam Museum Cafe

Fitzwilliam Museum Cafe
Trumpington Street, Cambridge, England
01223 764402
Improve this listing
Ranked #113 of 503 restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: $14 - $22
Cuisines: Bistro
Restaurant details
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Bistro Cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

A refreshing change when visiting Cambridge for a good value well presented light lunch.
Quite a variety of choice, something to suit everyone. Always served by friendly professional staff. Good choice of drinks to compliment food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    6
    18
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ely
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cambridge's best kept secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

On Sunday we had a cream tea as part of package with the punts and museum. A delightful tea, we all had our own tea pot , lovely china cups and plates. The scones were delicious and the cream was real clotted cream. The meals other people were eating looked very tempting. The cafe is light and spacious. Staff polite and polite. This was a real treat. Thank you Fitzwilliam

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice change to have leaf tea!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had a cup of tea here last weekend and were pleasantly surprised to be served with leaf tea. We seem to be one of the few people we know to not buy tea bags and are used to tea bags in cafes so this was good. We didn't have cakes because we thought they were a bit expensive but had chocolate cookies instead! These were crunchy and delicious. The cafe is in a beautiful setting and the service was with a smile.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice cakes and good coffee but the service?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

A disabled lady was told to wait to be seated before taking a seat whilst her friend collected their food & drink. Nice seating and area.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“More-than-adequate museum cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The cafe will provide very good (if a bit expensive) tea and buns, and also decent full lunches - I recommend the haddock. It's next to the museum shop; I would strongly advise buying a big chunky exhibition catalogue to read with your chocolate brownie.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fitzwilliam Museum Cafe also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Fitzwilliam Museum Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitzwilliam Museum Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.