We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Took the mickey!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Jamie's Italian

Jamie's Italian
Market Square | Wheeler Street, Cambridge CB2 3QJ, England
01223 654 094
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #167 of 522 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: $15 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Set between The Lanes shopping area and the seafront, Jamie Oliver's Italian restaurant in Brighton showcases fresh Italian dishes and daily specials just a short stroll from Brighton Pier. Prepared in a wood burning oven, you are invited to dine in the restaurant or in the roof top courtyard. Close to the Theatre Royal and Brighton Dome, Jamie's Italian is ideally located for pre and post-theatre dining in Brighton. Brighton train station is only a 15-minute walk away and parking is available at The Lanes car park, just two minutes' walk from the restaurant. Served in a rustic, lively ambience, Jamie's Italian offers a seasonal variety of simple Italian cuisine at reasonable prices. Freshly prepared pasta and antipasti dishes are highlighted on the menu, alongside a range of meat, fish and salad options. Complementing your meal, Jamie Oliver has handpicked some of his favourite wines for the list, accompanying a wide choice of organic house wines, reds, whites, prosecco and rose by the bottle and glass.
Dunstable, Beds
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Took the mickey!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Massively noisy, you could hardly hear the person next to you, but they still played background music anyway. Didn't serve pizza even though it was an Italian. Didn't have malt vinegar only balsamic, even though they sold chips - why? Really expensive, quite small portions. Service wasn't bad. Definitely wouldn't return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    325
    285
    181
    100
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“You are paying for the name!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Whole experience a bit of a let down really, doesn't live up to the hype.there are other eateries in the city which are better. Just another chain!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very noisy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Only went once, and won't be going again. Had to fight our way through the queue as we'd booked,
Very small table, we kept being jostled by both staff and other diners. It was incredibly noisy, we really couldn't converse with each other - we ended up shouting whenever we felt the need to communicate. The food was minimalistic to say the least, completely forgettable, very disappointing and very expensive. Needless to say, we wouldn't dream of going back. I agree with a previous reviewer: this place wouldn't survive without the Jamie Oliver name.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Avoid at all cost's”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Avoid this at all cost's. I've only ever been once, but that was once too often, and it was about 6 months ago but I've heard it's not changed.
It seems to live on the name - the fact that it's got a famous chef behind it, but that doesn't stop it being overprice, overrated and offering under quality in terms of service and food.
The night we went it was busy, yet you couldn't book a table - you just had to wait in a queue. When we finally got a table, the service was absymal, it was extremly slow and the waitress looked and acted like she would rather have been somewhere else and that we were doing her a favour by beiong there.
The food, when we finally got it, could best be described as bland, I had rump steak, which I asked Medium rare - it came out as well done so it went back. When it came back, it was better but now done as Medium but the worst thing is that it was obvious that the plate had just been sitting around as the chips were now cold.
Can't remember what the rest of the party had, but I remember that no one was impressed.
The bill was the best part of over £90.00 for the 4 of us (inclding drinks), possibly the worst £90.00 I've ever spent in a resturant.
I did write a letter of complaint, and I'm still waiting a response
It's got one star, for the only reason that's it not possible to give it Zero Star

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Hard Pasta in an Italian Resuarant!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Came here with 14 other people for a staff night out. Very average starter and disgracefull main. How can an italian restaurant get a baisc pasta dish so wrong. Would this restaurant survive if it was not a Jamie Oliver place? I very much doubt it, there are plenty of other Italian restaurants in the city whoknow how to cook and serve the Italian food much better

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jamie's Italian also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Jamie's Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jamie's Italian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.