We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly affordable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jamie's Italian

Jamie's Italian
Market Square | Wheeler Street, Cambridge CB2 3QJ, England
01223 654 094
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #167 of 522 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: $15 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Set between The Lanes shopping area and the seafront, Jamie Oliver's Italian restaurant in Brighton showcases fresh Italian dishes and daily specials just a short stroll from Brighton Pier. Prepared in a wood burning oven, you are invited to dine in the restaurant or in the roof top courtyard. Close to the Theatre Royal and Brighton Dome, Jamie's Italian is ideally located for pre and post-theatre dining in Brighton. Brighton train station is only a 15-minute walk away and parking is available at The Lanes car park, just two minutes' walk from the restaurant. Served in a rustic, lively ambience, Jamie's Italian offers a seasonal variety of simple Italian cuisine at reasonable prices. Freshly prepared pasta and antipasti dishes are highlighted on the menu, alongside a range of meat, fish and salad options. Complementing your meal, Jamie Oliver has handpicked some of his favourite wines for the list, accompanying a wide choice of organic house wines, reds, whites, prosecco and rose by the bottle and glass.
Maastricht, Limburg, Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Surprisingly affordable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

On a stroll through Cambridge we discovered this Jamie's Italian. In a kind of Industrial but cosy atmosphere in an old library we had a two course dinner. I really enjoyed mu Sicilian tuna fusili. Small plate £7,95, bigger plate £11,95. Quiet reasonable for a very good dish!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    325
    285
    181
    100
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Happy Hullabaloo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

If you like a lively & boistrous atmosphere and you are 4, 6 or more going out for dinner, then this is the place for you. The food is good and reasonably priced & our waiter was typically cheeky Italain too. There's also one "private room" upstairs with a round table set in the "tower", that's good for 8-10, wichis fine if you can make your own atmosphere. We prefer downstairs in the bar.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Second time and nothings changed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

After a very poor and disappointing first visit in 2012, we decided to give Jamie's Italian in Cambridge a second chance. We booked a table for 8:45pm on Saturday 16 March. We arrived on time and our table was already prepared. As you would expect on a Saturday night the place was very busy with an excellent atmosphere. The setting of this restaurant is exceptional. With its open plan cooking and seating arrangements it generates a real buzz. Unfortunately the quality of the food does not match the stunning setting. I am not going to go in to detail as to what we ate only to say it was well below average. It was probably a slight improvement on last time as we did not have to send the food back. For three courses, coffee and a bottle of wine I don't think £75.00 is expensive. However I would rather pay more if the food was up to the standard I would expect from a so-called renowned restaurant. After the last meal we wrote to customer services complaining about the meal. As you would expect, we never got a reply!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very good; pleasing to find a chain restaurant of this quality.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great lunch and amazing service. Family friendly, with a nice kids menu. Excellent value. Best to book as it can get busy and the main restaurant area has a stunning ceiling. Thoroughly enjoyed by all. We will be back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband, myself, our daughter and son-in-law had lunch here. Our starters were quite good but it went down hill after that. The two burgers were overcooked, the burger buns were dry, the tuna pasta dish was dry with very little tuna and the prawn linguini was very shy on prawns. The chips to go with one of the burgers did not turn up and we had to ask for them. We were really looking forward to this meal but the experience left us feeling disappointed and we would certainly not go back again, nor would we recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jamie's Italian also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Jamie's Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jamie's Italian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.