We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its like a B&B without an annoying, nosey landlady - in effect a private hotel room inside a house.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trinitas Villa

Save Saved
You added Trinitas Villa to your Saves list
Trinitas Villa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trinitas Villa
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   439 Newmarket Rd, Cambridge CB5 8JJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 116 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“Its like a B&B without an annoying, nosey landlady - in effect a private hotel room inside a house.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

My main choice for this place was that it was close to the home of my friends. I was a bit put off by some of the reviews here but either they were too fussy or the place has changed recently.

I really liked it. We never met the landlord and communicated by mobile, text and email. This was a good thing, it seemed very private and we felt like the house was "ours" for a few days. The room was cleaned daily and had all the facilities we needed. Once inside the room it felt like any other hotel room I've stayed in. There was a kettle, a TV, a good shower and the bed was massive with a memory-foam mattress - luxury!

I visit my Cambridge friends every May and I will definitely be booking it again next year.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    9
    2
    4
    7
See reviews for
3
10
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is not a hotel. It is a tiny house with no reception and no real communal area. It is on a VERY busy and noisy road, opposite a B&Q and other large retail outlets. The manager was unfriendly and only on the premises for about 5 minutes, Just long enough to take the money. The room was adequate and clean but there was a great deal of noise from within the house. Other guests were simply walking around and using the shower but there is no sound proofing. This is a mean spirited place where very effort has been made to skimp on the facilities. Spend a little more and go somewhere much nicer - this is definitely not worth the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

On the pictures rooms look much more neat, then in reality. Furniture very old probably from flee market, grandma TV box. No telephone and broken internet, no coffee maker and one fridge for every one. You will see half a liter bottles containing some shampoo and soap.
If you stay more then one day, keep in mind, that you will end up of using the same towel again.
What was very annoying to get notices, when you arrive, "don't leave luggage on the flow, be careful with walls (do not leave mark on them), don't splash in bathroom (which is quite tiny), don't make noise after 10p.m., etc". It's like pay for room but don't use it.
It's almost 30min walk to center of the city, half of the distance is not pleasant at all.
If you are from North America, be ready to pay cash, since manager of that "Beautiful place" doesn't have credit card machine.
Unpleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne U.K.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Trinitas is an excellent place for a stay in Cambridge. It is in a convenient position with clean, modern, attractive rooms. Good bus service or lovely riverside walk into the city. Good eating places nearby. Very helpful manager on premises. Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gorla minore
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

The Trinitas is a little bit far from the center,but the bus stop is closed to it.
The room is little but confortable. There is the chance to do a self check in given a password.
It was a good stay.

Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Stayed at the hotel for two nights in August 2011; for the price I found the room very basic with dated décor.

Positives of the stay were that the bed was comfortable, there was plenty of hot water for showers and the overall temperature in the room was comfortable.

The negatives about the room:
The cleanliness was debatable; we found a crumpled handkerchief by the side of the bed, under the bed itself was extremely dusty, and during our two night stay our bin wasn’t emptied neither were we provided with clean towels. In fact, it was debated what the ‘cleaners’ did and came to the conclusion that it was nothing.

There is a laminated place card with a list of ‘rules’ on it, which included a quite ridiculous rule about ‘Fake tan’ not being permitted anywhere on the premises. If a venue is going to dictate what creams are/not permitted, they may want to advise you before any money is exchanged, as I had already bought some. I could also understand the necessity for such rules if they had new towels and bedding, but the towels were far from new so there did not seem to be any danger of them being ruined.

In addition to the room, the communal area was pretty poor, but as no breakfast was included, we fortunately did not have to spend any time there.

Overall I found the room of poor quality with a non-existent service that did not fit with the price paid.

Room Tip: The rooms do not look like the photo's on the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

I stayed here for one night as i had an exam at Anglia Ruskin University the following day. We arrived from Dublin late in the evening and it was great to be able to check in at our own leisure. The owner had rung me the day before we arrived just to confirm details and advise me of the code for the door..he was so lovely and would go out of his way for you. The room was so big,clean and the decor was gorgeous. There was a lovely room downstairs with fruit and muffins for us to eat and an iron and ironing board. I slept very well in the huge bed and although there is no breakfast other than fruit available its so lovely to feel like you are in your own little apartment. I am doing a degree in September and would definately stay here again whilst on trips to the university. First class!!

Room Tip: Ask for the double rooms on the first floor..they are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Trinitas Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinitas Villa

Address: 439 Newmarket Rd, Cambridge CB5 8JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Trinitas Villa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Trinitas Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinitas Villa Hotel Cambridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trinitas Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.