We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wheatsheaf Public House

Wheatsheaf Public House
114 Stow Road, | Stow cum Quy, Cambridge CB25 9AD, England
01223 812 196
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #281 of 524 Restaurants in Cambridge
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Four of us went to the wheatsheaf for lunch, very friendly welcome, we were asked where we would like to sit, we picked the conservatory. The waitress was very pleasant, the owner popped over to chat and see that all was well, I noticed she was very attentive to all her customers which is a nice touch. The carvery was great, and we were all very satisfied , the portions were just enough, and we all left feeling comfortably full.
Will go there again .

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    14
    9
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Littleport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Bad end to 2013 -Terrible meal & 20mins in the car!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

After a late decision to go out my parents booked us a table for New Years Eve. We booked a table for 7 at 6pm - eating early due to having a 3yr old & 7yr old. We drove to the pub to meet my parents arriving at about 5.40 so we could have a drink before we were seated. Should have guessed it was not going to be all that good when we arrived to a pub in near darkness without the main sign turned on.
We got out of the car waking up the 3yr old, as we walked towards the door we were informed we don't open till 6. I replied saying we had a table booked for 6pm. To which they repeated back to me we don't open till 6. So we had to return to the car for a 20 minute wait! At no point when the table was booked was it mentioned not to arrive before 6!The door was promptly unlocked at 6! There was another table of 5 & a table of 4 the pub was dead not a good sign on New years eve. The rest of the evening didn't get much better, 3 of us ordered whitebait which was a tiny portion for the price & over cooked. The food was served on cold plates. The best starter was the butterfly king prawns but you can't really go wrong with frozen. 3 of our party had carvery which was terrible hard/burnt roast potatoes, disgusting gravy (school dinners springs to mind) lack of variety in veg, The best thing was probably the yorkshire puds which ran out & were not replenished! 2 people had the curry of the day which was described as mild & fruity - but had an over powering taste of uncooked curry powder. The only 2 meals which were okish were a childs portion of scampi & they did manage to cook the rib eye steak - despite the over cooked mushrooms & mountain of peas. We decided to skip dessert, paid & headed home as the staff (all 3 of them looked like they were waiting to go home). The pub also lacked any Christmas decorations & anything festive. I would avoid this place at all costs!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great friendly eatery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

The Christmas part food was top notch ...Good valve for £25.
The food was served up pipe ing hot and all together ,,so we all ate at the same time ....
Main of carvery , choice of 3 meats went down well...
As for pud ..... Brandy sauce was like your mum makes ... All in all a great time .... No where to go next year ... Get in quick

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Surprised Its Empty!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Surprised it's empty? We were not! Others must have been before and given this eating house a wide berth. The reputation of the Wheatsheaf was good however, either the management has changed or they have lost the plot.
The main course was served on cold plates and the microwaved food had not been left in the microwave long enough to get hot. The puddings were served with luke warm custard and the quality left much to be desired.
The Wheatsheaf is not inexpensive. They charge prices found in good restaurants around the Cambridge area.
My advice is to give this one a miss.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“So so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This is a carvery with a restaurant 'type' additional menu. The premises were clean and tidy yet, as proved, lacked enough staff. After perusing the restaurant tpe menu we were astonished at the prices of the starters and the puddings. The mains courses listed were pretty basic so my wife and I decided that the carvery offered good value. Our friends however decided they wanted a starter so we joined in. How a pub can charge £6.99 for pate that was pretty basic I do not know. My starter of salmon and prawns was an outlandish £8.30 (it was the only option I liked), The carvery however was good and I rate it at 4+. The only downside was lack of: mint sauce, apple sauce and cranberry sauce to go with the very tasty carvery loints. The roast pork was excellent. There was certainly a lack of waitressing staff as we had to clear our own starters' plates to a nearby table where they stayed. Overall we would visit again but only the carvery.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wheatsheaf Public House also viewed

 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Stow Cum Quy, Cambridge
 

Been to Wheatsheaf Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wheatsheaf Public House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.