We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top draw burger in a lovely setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Bar Steakhouse & Grill

River Bar Steakhouse & Grill
10 Quayside | Off Bridge Street, Cambridge CB5 8AQ, England
+44 1223 307030
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 522 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The River Bar Steakhouse and Grill, with its cavernous loft-like vibe, quayside location and creative crowd, has become one of Cambridge's premier restaurants. Located close to the bustling town centre, in a riverside spot opposite Magdalene College, The River Bar Steakhouse and Grill is a popular choice for special occasion dining and drinks. The Grill serves the very finest prime cuts of beef, aged for 28 days and sourced from local farms. The menu includes a large selection of cuts, from a classic porterhouse to a tender fillet or indulgent chateaubriand for two. Burgers meanwhile are freshly made on the premises and marinated chicken and fresh fish come straight from the signature grill too. Though based around the steak, The River Bar Steakhouse and Grill caters superbly for vegetarians, serves sublime desserts and prior to your meal we heartily recommend enjoying hand mixed cocktails in the bar, the ideal start to any special evening.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Top draw burger in a lovely setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

1st time at the River Bar but I had heard good things so we tried it for lunch as part of our day out in Cambridge. Lovely setting, friendly staff and the food was 1st class. We both had burgers and you could tell they were home made. Food being served to other diners looked great too. Would go back again and this time take a group of us...

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    112
    52
    26
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Exceptionally Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Came here with my husband after reading great reviews on here, and we were not disappointed - the food was amazing, so much so we then spent the rest of the evening talking about it :)

Atmosphere was relaxed but almost had an 'exclusive' feel about it, and the service was fantastic from the moment we arrived.

My only criticism is that the tables did just feel a bit too close together - maybe that's just me being a bit anal about personal space as I haven't seen any other complaints on here!

Will definitely be returning!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service, Fantastic Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Myself and my other half visited last night for his birthday. The service was impeccable, and the food was outstanding! We will definitely be going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good combination!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Great dinner, the river view is not always available but place still good enough. American food overall. Could be expensive but with good selections would not, as it was. Service EXCELLENT! A must in Cambridge.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Classy, I liked everything about it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Lovely location overlooking the river, great atmosphere, pleasent, helpful attentive staff.. We had to wait a long time for our main course so we were given a free glass of prosecco. Neither of us had a steak so I cant coment on that, i had salmon and my friend had the seabass.. i thought the salmon and the side dishes were delicious. And the desserts are to die for. We also had two cocktails each which we enjoyed.
It was my birthday, and when the waitress bought out my dessert the chef had piped 'Happy Birthday' on the plate, which I thought was really sweet, and made the experience that bit more special.
I couldnt go too often as my budget wouldnt allow it, I was treated to this by my very generous friend,but I loved it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Bar Steakhouse & Grill also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to River Bar Steakhouse & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Bar Steakhouse & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.