We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Indian food around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lalbagh Bangladeshi & Indian Diner

Lalbagh Bangladeshi & Indian Diner
49 Alms Hill | Bourn, Cambridge CB23 2SH, England
01954 719131
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 524 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: $16 - $48
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Lalbagh Restaurant and Takeaway is a fully licensed restaurant and takeaway located in the beautiful village of Bourn, Cambridge. The restaurant has been fully re-decorated to provide the most finest and unique atmosphere of any Indian restaurant in Cambridge or United Kingdom.Lalbagh serves an extensive array of authentic meals, which are freshly prepared using only the best and finest ingredients. Our food can be consumed at our modern restaurant or in the comfort of your home via our Takeaway service. Furthermore, the restaurant bar has been stocked with high quality wines and drinks for your enjoyment.There is ample free car parking spaces behind the Restaurant and we are open 7 days a week from 12 noon to 2.00 pm & 5.30 pm to 10.30 pm.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Best Indian food around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I had to write a review as i was so impressed by this restaurant. The service is impeccable. A good welcome when you arrive, and a big thank you when you leave. The restaurant looks nice and cosy inside, with pleasant decor. The food is wonderful and tasty. Nice thick sauces that don't look the same as the other dishes on the table.
The Waiting staff are attentive and polite and even ask would you like time between courses, not just slam the main down straight after a starter. I was impressed to hear from the owner, that he trains his chefs the way he wants the food to be dished up, I've experienced problems in the past with other restaurants when a new chef is employed and the food sometimes goes downhill. We have been 4 times now and each time, the same pleasant experience. It is best to reserve a table as it does get quite busy, a good sign we think ;>) we are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    25
    16
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful food - a break from the norm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

was taken here by my parents for Sunday Lunch - despite living several miles away they drive over regularly for a take away and now I can see why.

A former pub the decor is modern and neutral. The menu is large with a number of dishes that despite considering ourselves fairly familiar with we were unfamiliar with, alongside more familiar fayre.

We all ordered dishes we were unfamiliar with - both for starters and mains - and we even ordered an extra mixed kebab for the centre of the table. The Lamb chops were amazing - really tender and beautifully spiced - Best I have had anywhere.

Mains were all delicious - and all were great - if I was to pick a standout dish it woudl be the rhubarb seabas. Sounds weird - tasted amazing - the shaprness of the rhubarb goes really well with the seabass which was beautifully crispy. We also had the lamb shank, which was huge and tender, and I had a bangdladeshi dish of chicken on the bone which was in a lovely thick sauce and delicately spiced. It was all delicious.

This is so much more than the standard 'curry house' most of us are used to - the dishes show real flare and a break from the norm. (whilst also offering more familiar fayre)

Why not 5 stars - well, there was only 1 other table in the place (it was Sunday Lunchtime! - so hard to judge for atmosphere. the food is served on strange shaped plates, which I hate - the fod is delicious it doesn't need any bells and whistles from the crockery. The (keema) naan bread was a bit 'meh' and I LOVE keema naan. With a bit more refinement though - this place could really put Bourne on the map!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Gave into a craving this week and ordered a take away from Lalbagh, being the closest option for us. The food was revolting, we actually didn't eat it & called the next day to complain, even offering to return the uneaten food as proof.
Chicken 'tikka' masala contained dry, rubbery grilled chicken that had not been marinaded or tandoor'd. The sauce was thin and unnaturally bright red, overly sweet & totally inauthentic - clearly containing no fresh spices, onion or garlic. The chicken korma was sickening yellow & tasted exactly the same as the tikka masala sauce - just a different food colour added. Again the chicken was some sort of catering pack re-heat, dry as old wood.
Naan bread was tiny, rubbery & tasteless. Pilau rice was greasy - clearly a reheat in oil.
I suspect this is all catering pack food & microwave heated. I think they use a standard sauce base & add food colouring to make it match the dish.
This is the 2nd time we have had a takeout from here & not eaten it - the last time was over a year ago - we assumed it was a one off - clearly this is normal
I also suspect that eat-in customers may get better product than take-way customers - who are out of sight out of mind.
We will never waste money here again - would have been better off with an M&S curry!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Curry House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is our local Curry House, and always gets the vote when eating out with the family. We get consistently good food, attentive and friendly staff all of which makes for an excellent night out. We would highly recommend the Lalbagh to all who enjoy a good curry in convivial surroundings.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Went to Lalbagh with my father at his recommendation as he had been before. I certainly wasn't disappointed. I had the tandoori mixed seafood which was positively delicious. Salmon, pangfish and king prawns with fried onion and peppers. So much fish on my plate and tasted so good. The place was very clean and a modern décor, service was very good too,Staff were attentive without being over bearing. We went on a Saturday at about 12.30 and there was only one other table there however. Dad has been on a Saturday night before and said it was just as good. Would certainly go again and recommend to friends.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lalbagh Bangladeshi & Indian Diner also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Lalbagh Bangladeshi & Indian Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lalbagh Bangladeshi & Indian Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.