We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Earl of Derby

Earl of Derby
129 Hills Road, Cambridge CB2 1PG, England
1223 352785
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #256 of 512 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
peterborough, UK
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Didn't stay here but called in for Breakfast on the Sunday morning as it opens around 7.30/8.00. Full English was £5.50. Service was prompt, food hot and typical pub atmosphere!

Would visit again if in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    18
    8
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Our Local”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Live music on Saturdays, friendly staff, great atmosphere,good food. If you want to go to a pub with character, come here. There is also ample parking. Our favourite pub.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lurgan, Co Armagh
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food, odd vibe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The nachos that I had were as good as any. They are rather odd in how much they charge to use a credit or debit card. The crowd is nice.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good pub food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

As I had a room here I ate here twice; full english in the morning, and Sunday roast. Both exceeded my expectations and I wouldn't hesitate to eat here again.
The environment is a little rough and ready, but the food and beer was fine, and the staff are friendly.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“good beer but poor food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The Earl Of Derby is a pub not far from the railway station in Cambridge.

I met with a friend and former colleague and had a beer and a simple meal - a jacket potato with tuna.
The beer was fine but I soon realised that the jacket potato was pretty poor, probably from the bottom of the bag. The only reason I ate any of it was I was very hungry and didn't have much time! The tuna was quite salty too, probably from a tin which hadn't been drained properly. For the rest of the afternoon my stomach complained, and I wished taken the food back altogether and refused it. It wasn't as if the price was a bargain either.

The location is in a bustling part of Cambridge not far from the station amidst a lot of building work, so although you could sit outside it would be very noisy,

The beer was good, and the free wifi was useful, but I'll never eat there again, though I would consider meeting a friend after work.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Earl of Derby also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Earl of Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Earl of Derby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.