We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting, delicious menu!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galleria Restaurant

Galleria Restaurant
33 Bridge Street, Cambridge CB2 1UW, England
+44 1223 362054
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Galleria Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #51 of 526 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: $16 - $47
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Claremont, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Interesting, delicious menu!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The restaurant is located at the northern end of Cambridge, near Magdalene and St. John's Colleges. Even if you are housed in the southern part of town, however, it is worth a walk to get to this lovely restaurant. Then menu choices are interesting and varied: herbs, spices, and other ingredients are chosen with care and imagination. The chicken selections often have a Mediterranean or North African flare, and the chicken itself is beautifully cooked to be tender and flavorful. The ambiance is casual and relaxed, and there are tables outside on an upper deck overlooking the River Cam and the punts making their way along the river.

We kept going back to this place for dinner and lunch and hosted a dinner for 15 one night. The staff was accommodating and friendly and service was efficient!

Don't miss this great restaurant in a wonderful, medieval city.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    83
    24
    8
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ely, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My wife and I called into the Galleria last Saturday, having lived in Cambridge region for +50 years it was surprising we had never been to this restaurant before. We were offered a small table on the lower balcony overlooking the river, watching the punters was great entertainment, but best of all was the food and service. It really was fabulous and I could not praise it highly enough, try the Monk fish with prawns, wonderful, helps of course if it is a sunny day to sit outside but for sure we will be back at any time of year.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice food in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We ordered chicken salad and it was very tasty. Location right on river front and we sat on the terrace and watched the punts go by. Would recommend as nice place to sip a cool drink in the summer, eat some tasty food and watch the tourists struggle with their punting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great lunch, definitely recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Decided to go to this restaurant after a quick browse on trip advisor for a restaurant in Cambridge to go to for lunch on a day out with my parents. This place was on the street we were on and reviews seems good so decided to try it.
Definitely happy with our choice! Weather was fantastic so were happy to be seated on the lower balcony overlooking the river and the punts. It was nice to be outside but in the shade, I'm not a fan of eating in the direct sunshine, but was still lovely and warm. If you do like eating in the sun, the upper balcony was in the direct sun.
Food was fab, we had starters and mains, so can't comment on the desserts. The monkfish was great, and my parents also really enjoyed their meals. Service was fine, we were there about 1pm. Didn't find it too expensive. Atmosphere was good because of the weather, really great outlook from the balcony. Would go again when next in Cambridge.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens Greece
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Daughter's choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Chosen by my daughter to celebrate her graduation. It proved a very acceptable choice and the menu choice (a special graduation menu) was thoughtful and inviting. Nice choice of wines. Recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galleria Restaurant also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Galleria Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galleria Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.