We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacked atmosphere & food was average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Green Man

The Green Man
55 Trumpington High Street | Trumpington, Cambridge CB2 9HZ, England
+44 1223 844903
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #248 of 512 Restaurants in Cambridge
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Lacked atmosphere & food was average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We booked a table for 4 for an early meal on Sat eve. On arrival the man who checked our booking details didn't smile or make us feel welcome. He gave us a table in the middle of the floor ( we'd booked early in the week -hoping for a better table). When we asked to sit at one of the other vacant tables we prefered he curtly replied ' No you can't it is booked' . He made no attempt to be accomodating . It took nearly 15 minutes before our order was taken for drinks.- then a further 20mins before the food order was taken-(the waitress was pleasant but seemed over worked).
The food was average. The sirloin & fillet steaks tasted like they had been sat in a warm bath for half an hour & then quickly 'griddled' before being served- they were not very enjoyable.
The restaurant lacked atmosphere and was quite 'noisy'-like a canteen . The food was a bit over priced for the quality.
We wouldn't return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    74
    43
    40
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Disappointing Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Had checked this out on line and read the reviews so had high expectations! The Green Man looks great and is very spacious inside. It was not busy when we popped in for an early dinner but we had to wait quite some time to be served. The menu is extensive and the specials board was interesting. I had the 'special lasagne' which came with delicious garlic bread but the lasagne just tasted of tomatoes and nothing else. My husband had the Chicken Piedmonte which was tough, cold and served with hard potatoes. Needless to say we didn't stay for dessert but came home for a cup of tea and a biscuit as we were still hungry!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

What can I say, we had the two steaks and I must say my steak was one of the best I've ever eaten, cooked just has I ordered. The staff go out of there way to help, this public house is now one of my favourites.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Tasty tasting platter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Popped in for lunch en route to Wimpole Hall. We shared the tasting platter, which included pork belly between black pudding and an apple fritter, pâté on brioche, goats cheese and sun dried tomato salad and fish cake. All very nicely presented and tasted as good as it looked. Friendly service. Will return.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I want to share my experience at The Green Man - after having read a few negative reviews we decided to to try The Green Man
anyway... The menu looked lovely ( online)
and the outdoor seating inviting on a warm summers night. So glad we did! I had a delicious burger ( the skinny burger - no carbs just burger grilled and set on a large bed of salad..loved the option!!)
and my partner enjoyed his meal as well. The wine selection was lovely. Service was good.
Would definitely recommend.... Saw many people enjoying their meals and/ or enjoying a drink at the outdoor area... Very nice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Green Man also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
 
Grantchester, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Green Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Green Man, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.