We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alder Lodge Guest House

Alder Lodge Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Alder Lodge Guest House to your Saves list
Alder Lodge Guest House
116 Kings Hedges Road, Cambridge CB4 2PA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 118 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Birmingham, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This B&B looks modest from the outside, but is comfortable within and absolutely excellent value as well as being warm and cosy with tea and coffee making facilities, Freeview and free wifi. It's a bit out of town bu public transport is good.

A bargain.

Room Tip: Kings Hedges road might be busy on a weekday so a room at the back is likely to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    16
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
13
6
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The Alder Lodge is a lovely B&B and I was very impressed with my 2 night stay here on a business trip. I stayed in the small single with bathroom downstairs at a cost of £25 per night. It was definitely worth it. I did not particularly mind that my bathroom was downstairs, as it saved me a lot of money.The room always had the heating on when you came in from the cold outside and was very clean. The bed was well presented, with clean linen, and was very comfortable. The TV had many Freeview channels and free WiFi was available, which is always a great benefit when you have work to do. The bathroom was also very clean and modern. A wonderful brilliant breakfast service is provided. It was absolutely gorgeous! Fresh orange juice, a range of cereals and hot drinks to choose from, and a wonderful cooked breakfast by a friendly chef, who always asked if everything was okay. I would definitely recommend staying here and will do so myself if I ever need to visit Cambridge again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The guest house is located off a main road and is located on the corner of a side street, there isn't a large sign up, so you need to look out for it. The lodge is a short drive from Cambridge University. There was parking available on the drive (for about 3 cars) and some around the corner on the side street.

The welcome was moderate/warm and we were shown our twin on suite room straight away. The room was clean with modern decor (bedding, lamps and bedside tables and cupboard (with hangers in it)). The bed was comfy and heat was on before we entered the room so it nice and cosy, and kept on all night. The bathroom had clean fresh towels and soap/shampoo/shower gel was provided. There was tea/coffee and hot chocolate facilities in the bedroom.

Breakfast was served between 8 and 9 am and was provided in the downstairs back extension. It was cooked to a good standard (we had a traditional English). We were asked to help ourself to juice and cereal and later offered more toast! :-)

I think £57 a night for a twin en-suite is a bit dear! Although i booked well in advance. There wasn't any exchange of words upon leaving, which would have been nice.

The guest house is fine for a few days stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Alder Lodge is an excellent B&B, very clean, with comfortable, fresh bed linen and the breakfasts are excellent. It is really good value for money with the advantage of free parking directly outside the house and a bus stop across the road - 20 minute ride into the centre of Cambridge.

We have stayed there on several occasions and look forward to doing so again in the near future.

Room Tip: Apparently rooms at the back of the house are quieter, although traffic noise has never been an issu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed here for one night & were very happy with what we found. Free parking right outside the house, quiet & comfortable bedroom that had everything we could possibly need. The free wifi was a big plus for us, as was the generous size of the room. The cooked breakfast the next morning was absolutely gorgeous & the location is great, nice walk into cambridge & back with no issues at all. I would highly recommend a stay here, couldn't fault it at all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed here for just the one night but from arrival we were very happy with the level of service offered by Alder Lodge. The room was spacious, well presented and clean. The bed was comfortable and the free wifi was a bonus. Breakfast the following morning was plentyful and well cooked. The only slightly negative thing I could say is that the onsite parking was a gravel area that was tricky to get on to because of the lack of dropped kerbs
Overall we would happily recommed this b&b

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Very clean and all necessary facilities.

Good breakfast - cooked and cereal.

Has a single room with no charge of a single supplement! Very unusual - well done, it's very much appreciated by a single traveller.

The owner very kindly upgraded me to a double room with ensuite as the room was free. Very nice thought that you didn't have to do but chose to do anyway so great customer service :)

Very close to town and train station, probably within walking distance (3miles), but easy to catch bus from guest house.

Has wi-fi and tv.

I would still award it 5 stars though, excellent choice and very good price.

Recommend

Thank you

Room Tip: The only thing I would suggest is that if you have trouble sleeping with traffic noise do ask the ow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alder Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alder Lodge Guest House

Address: 116 Kings Hedges Road, Cambridge CB4 2PA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Alder Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alder Lodge Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.