We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How clean is your hotel?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Clifton Lodge Hotel

Save Saved
You added Clifton Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Clifton Lodge Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clifton Lodge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210 West Wycombe Road, High Wycombe HP12 3AR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 hotels in High Wycombe
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“How clean is your hotel?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

When we booked, we were warned that the shower in our room will be small, module type shower. So the size of the room or the tiny shower/WC was not at all a problem.

But when we tried to actually use the shower, we couldn't - the shower head was so clogged with limescale that only one hole actually sprayed! We rang the reception and the response was 'yeah, ok, go and use the communal shower down the hall, we're too busy to sort it out for you'. We tried the communal shower, but the ceiling was mouldy, as was the area around the tap and brown limescale was plastered on the bath tub.

We decided to use the sharp end of my earring to pierce through the holes on the shower head in our room, rather than risk using the communal bathroom. When we rang the reception to tell them, the response was again dismissive and at no point an apology was offered.

we went on to having a lovely evening, as it was our friend's wedding, which was held at the hotel. Unfortunately, when trying to revive ourselves in the morning with a nice cup of coffee, the UHT milk left on the tea tray was sour! The taste certainly jolted us back into awakeness, but we would have prefered a gentler approach. It takes a very long time for UHT milk in a sealed container to go off, so we were wondering when it was last changed...

It is a shame about the muck, dirt and poor attitude of some staff, because otherwise the place was quite nice, and the prices very reasonable. But we will not be recommending this hotel to anyone,

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    12
    8
    10
    5
See reviews for
7
11
5
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

I was very pleased when I booked this Hotel: Family room for £79 - not bad. I should not have been so nieve as this Hotel really showed you get what you pay for! The decor was extremely dated, the hotel had a funny old smell, the sheets on the bed were old (but clean), the television wasn't tuned, the bathroom was filthy and the tap had broken, there were cobwebs in the bathroom, hairs around the sink, very cheap toilet tissue and what looked like a blackcurrant stain on the floor. We only stayed for the one night as we were passing through so it wasn't a massive inconvenience but annoying when you're paying good money for something that should have been a higher standard.

We didn't actually see much of the staff, there was an older guy who checked us in, he didn't say that much so I guess you could say that there was no warm welcome. The young girl at breakfast in the morning was responsive enough but not particularly friendly. She took the order promptly but did get it wrong.

To sum up; this hotel is below average. I would have expected to pay less for something so basic and dated. I'm afraid I wouldn't stay here again and unfortunately wouldn't recommend anyone to either.

With some decor improvements, some cleaning staff and warmer smiles this has the potential to be a fine hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

We stayed at this Hotel for 2 nights (Fri/Sat) as we were going to a concert at West Wycome Park. We arrived to a very warm wecome from a young woman and were quickly checked in.

We weren't sure what to expect from the room as we noticed on the website they are not all en-suite but the room we were given was lovely. We had a modern bathroom with a shower cubicle and it was very clean and equipped with toiletries. The room was fairly small but perfectly sufficient for it's purpose; crisp white sheets and towels, nice furniture and a large tv. We only paid £55 per night for both of us so we were really pleased with the standard of the room for that.

The breakfast in the conservatory was lovely, freshly cooked to order and brought to the table.

The was only one small thing that we didn't like which was being woken up at 6.15am to a strange, and fairly loud noise from somewhere else in the building. It only went on for a few minutes on both mornings but on a child-free weekend away we were looking forward to a lie in (especially on saturday with a slight hangover!)

There are plenty of nice places to visit nearby too. (And the concert nearby was FANTASTIC!!!!)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2008

Stayed for 1 night and it cost £80 B&B. I was expecting quite a nice place for this price, but it felt like a 1 star property, that was basic in every way. I can't actually believe I paid so much for this place.

It was reasonably clean, but shower was totally rubbish, and the rooms were so tiny, and it really just wasn't a pleasureable stay. Reception staff were also pretty unfriendly.

Would I stay again? NO, Unless it was £30 per night and I was looking for cheap accomodation.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — rubbish shower
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clif1, owner at Clifton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2009
Thankyou for your review.Sorry to hear that you had problems with us.
To let you know. The situation has now changed and the staff are not the same. We have updated many of the rooms and restaurant plus prices are cheaper. kind regards David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2008

Stayed here on business, read a review from another site which
stated reception not welcoming, they were right. However receptionist was also the cook and as I only saw one other member of staff probably the cleaner as well so can see why.

Very expensive room for what was given, hotel needs totally re-modernising but good thing was there was free wireless connection.

Would not stop again, bed and breakfasts offered alot cheaper out of centre so will opt for that option next time.

  • Liked — free wireless
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clif1, Owner at Clifton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2009
Thankyou for your review.Sorry to hear that you had problems with us.
To let you know. The situation has now changed and the staff are not the same. We have updated many of the rooms and restaurant plus prices are cheaper. kind regards David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clifton Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Lodge Hotel

Address: 210 West Wycombe Road, High Wycombe HP12 3AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > High Wycombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 hotels in High Wycombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifton Lodge Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Otel so you can book your Clifton Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton Lodge Hotel High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clifton Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.