We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mr Cod

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mr Cod
63 Bridge Street, High Wycombe HP11 2EL, England
01494 514 000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 150 restaurants in High Wycombe
Cuisines: Fast Food
Restaurant details
UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Average food and reasonable value for money. Reasonable service but unfortunately the staff are not very friendly

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

50% Recommend
    3
    1
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Takeway in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

They are simply the best take away in town, from their succulent pieces of chicken, to their perfectly cooked chips, their mayonaise is the best i've ever had (and i've had my fair share). They could possibly improve on their regualr battered fish, but this is over looked by their Masala Fish Meal. The service they provide is excellent, always willing to do that little bit more for customer satisfaction. They are a real laugh and an actual joy to talk to, they interact with you as appose to you ordering your food and not hearing from them until your food is ready. You can never hesitate to stop them in the middle of them preparing your order and making changes, they will do this no problem what so ever. All in all an excellent place to go if you want good value for money.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

The service was the most rude I've ever encountered, the front of shop was dirty and the chips were overly greasy and not nice at all.

Tummy Fillers on the London Road is far better if you have a junky craving.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Simply the worst "chippy" you could ever wish to go to”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

I spend most of my time between two different towns and one of them is high wycombe. If there is one thing High Wycombe lacks dearly (or maybe it does have one, i'm just unaware of it) it is a good fish and chip shop. I went to Mr Cod, and asked for fish, chips and mushy peas. They don't do mushy peas! When I got in home, the chips were ok, fish was awful. Blatently frozen. Mr Cod is essentially, a kebab shop which happens to have a big deep fat fryer to cook chip shop chips. I have no problem with kebab shops, I often use them when i've had a few drinks. But to advertise you takeaway as specialising in fish and chips, when that really isn't the case, is not on in my opinion. Go for burgers, kebabs etc but don't expect a good fish supper!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr Cod also viewed

High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
 
High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Mr Cod? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr Cod, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.