We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food & Great accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown at Radnage

The Crown at Radnage
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Crown at Radnage to your Saves list
The Crown at Radnage
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   City Road, High Wycombe HP14 4DW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 High Wycombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food & Great accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The pub is a small country pub no more than a 10 minute drive from the M40! The rooms are based in building next to the pub . They are really good quality, comfortable with all the facilities expected in any hotel. Nice and spacious, great comfortable beds.

The food is good - dinner is good - nice range of options cooked to a high quality and not expensive. Main course ranges from £10-14. Breakfast in the morning is served in the pub, gorgeous! Full English, freshly cooked with freshly brewed coffee (there are other options too). A great start to any day!

I would highly recommended this place - either as a base to go to other places or as a short break from it all! Staying here makes you never want to stay in a hotel chain ever again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    17
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
37
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at The Crown on brief visit to Oxfordshire. It's a great traditional pub in a quiet location and yet close to the M40. The accommodation is in a tasteful purpose-built block with large, nicely decorated rooms looking across the large pub garden . Our bed was really comfortable and the large wet-room had an excellent shower.
We ate in the pub which serves a simple menu using locally sourced products. The steak and steak-burgers were cooked to perfection and stylishly served.....it's so good to get a steak cooked exactly how you've asked for it! The breakfast menu left us left us spoiled for choice and fantastically well-fuelled for the day! All-in-all an excellent, good-value experience and we would definitely choose to stay here again if returning to the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Foreign travelers looking to stay at an old English Inn need to understand that the lodging at the Crown is a modern construction mini-motel located in the Inn's parking lot. This is not to say that the rooms are without charm...they are very secure, comfortable and clean, equipped with mini-fridges and with wet-room showers that have heated tile floors. The inn itself is quite inviting and offers above-average quality food as well as friendly staff. Located in residential countryside, it is convenient for a walk in the fresh air. Also, the location isn't too far of a drive from a small shopping street and is fairly convenient to exploring the scenic village of Great Marlow.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I booked The Crown at Radnage based on other reviewers' comments on Trip Advisor, as a surprise for my wife on our wedding anniversary weekend. I was encouraged by the friendliness of the staff who answered the phone when I booked and later checked and updated our stay details. The venue itself is very pleasing, the pub has a good range of well-kept real ales + San Miguel on draft, as well as wines and spirits to suit all tastes. The accommodation we used was one of four cabins across the car park and therefore unaffected by pub noise other than the odd car leaving or arriving, but the room was quiet, very well appointed with comfortable bed, Samsung tv, a coffee machine + tea making facilities, a room safe and best of all, a wet room with a great shower! The room alarms when you lock it upon leaving, so security is well provided for. It is within easy reach of High Wycombe and Marlow (see separate review of The Hand and Flowers) and has excellent walking, including one we created from the door. Food at The Crown is excellent. Breakfasts are made to order, featuring eggs from their own chickens, superbly cooked by John. The menu offers superb options to suit any palate - we can recommend the tagliatelle and especially the pork belly! The real Jewels in The Crown are the staff. We were really impressed with their friendly, nothing-is-too-much-trouble approach. They were literally super-accommodating, flexible and very friendly, as were other patrons of the pub. They didn't charge for things like bottled water in the room fridge, they supplied fresh milk in the room and generally provided us with a feel good experience across the whole stay. We recommend The Crown with no hesitation

Room Tip: Cabin rooms in the grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is my local so I might be a little biased but, in an area with lots of fabulous places to eat & drink, many of them Michelin starred, this is still holds its head high and with justification. The staff are universally friendly and helpful; the cask beers are all local and well kept and the wine list, whilst not hugely long, does have a number of very nice wines that are well priced.

The menu, like the wine list, is not particularly long but regulars (that change gradually over time) are augmented by daily specials. All are fairly simple and unpretentious but very well cooked from excellent ingredients. My favourite starter is the Whitebait, crispy and with just enough cayenne to give added interest without masking the fish. Probably my most regular main is the steak burger (the word burger does it an injustice), the meat is moist and pink with really good flavour, served with a great salsa and wonderful chips. Equally delicious are the home made fish cakes on a creamy leak base and the chicken Caesar salad, which (like another super starter, the creamy and dreamy chicken soup) is absolutely packed with chicken. Puddings are put daily on the board and we've always loved every one we've had with the crème brûlée as probably our favourite. I would also recommend Sunday lunch: the roasts from locally sourced meats are beautifully cooked - beef is rare, juicy, tender and wonderfully tasty and the pork is moist, tender and really tastes of pork, with lovely crackling.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My partner and I came down to visit my kids, we have tried to find a great B&B for a while now, since our last B&B became far too overpriced for what they offered and we came upon this gem. On arrival we were impressed, the chalet styled rooms were fantastic the beds were fantastic, the wetroom was a gem. There was real milk and a sml fridge, real coffee. The breakfast was out of this world and nothing was too much trouble, great hosts, very welcoming. If you need a place to stay in this area, book, book, book

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My partner and I visit the area four or five times a year and have struggled to find a decent place to stay our search is over. The crown is fantastic the rooms are housed in a block with every detail thought of lovely comfy bed wet room flat screen TV with freeview decent coffee machine with fresh milk an added bonus! The pub itself was also very welcoming good selection of cask beers and decent food at resonable prices the next time we stay we will be having dinner if the breakfast is anything to go by it was the best breakfast I have tasted the scrambled eggs were divine if your looking for a decent place to stay with good faciltys and a warm friendy welcome you will not go wrong here!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crown at Radnage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown at Radnage

Address: City Road, High Wycombe HP14 4DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > High Wycombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in High Wycombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown at Radnage 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Crown at Radnage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown At Radnage Hotel High Wycombe
The Crown At Radnage High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown at Radnage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.