We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy Overnighter for the M25” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Three Horseshoes Inn Restaurant

The Three Horseshoes Inn Restaurant
Horseshoe Road, Bennett End, High Wycombe HP14 4EB, England
01494 483273
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Three Horseshoes Inn Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 150 restaurants in High Wycombe
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Set in the natural splendour of the Chiltern Hills, The Three Horseshoes Inn is a quaint foodie destination set inside a free house that dates back to 1745. With the flagstone floors, blackened beams and inglenook fireplaces still intact, The Three Horseshoes restaurant has been reinvented as a stylish hub of home-cooking and hospitality that has been a hit with everyone from locals to celebrities such as Dame Judi Dench and Jay Kay. The unpretentious restaurant has an airy, boutiquey atmosphere and signature dishes such as the free range pork and smoked bacon terrine with fig chutney and the fillet of sea bass in a ginger, garlic and chilli dressing have become legendary in epicurious circles.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Handy Overnighter for the M25”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The countryside is incredibly rural round the Chilterns and the Three Horseshoes is snuck deep into one corner of it. You get to it by aiming towards Radnage down successively narrower lanes.
The inn is small and quaint with snug rooms and challenging stairs. Evening trade is raucous and brisk (where do they all come from ?) and the food just kept up with the demands of the starving clientele to be fed. With just one waitress and one cook the service and cuisine was as good as anyone could expect.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    19
    13
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“A wonderful setting for great food in the Chiltern Hills”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Saturday week saw the present wife and sister in law head over to the delightful valley in the Chilterns which is Radnage. There at the end of single lane country roads in the clefts of the Chiltern Hills is the lovely 12th Century Templar Church of St. Marys where our friends James and Sally were getting married in some style. Afterwards they were conveyed in a VW “Splittie” to their reception a short distance in one of the great rural pubs of the Chilterns, The Three Horseshoes.

Dating from 1745 it was bought in 2005 by top chef Simon Cranshaw in fulfilment of a personal dream to have his own place doing great British food. Holder of a Michelin “Bib Gourmand” Simon had previously worked at The Connaught Hotel and Le Gavroche. So in a marquee attached to the pub and overlooking the hills a superb feast was had for the small wedding party of 60 good friends and family. After being offered Pimms and exquisite canapés starters consisted of mouth-watering King Prawns with chorizo and a rocket salad, chicken liver pate or a goats cheese tartlet. Mains were roast beef or sea bass. The beef is locally sourced from Red Lion Farm and is served medium rare and warm rather than hot. The assiete of four deserts to finish was both an exquisite and luxurious finale.

The setting of the Three Horseshoes in wonderful rolling Chiltern countryside reminds me of why I value living here so much and with only six bedrooms it offers a lovely weekend retreat a million miles in setting from the hustle and bustle of London, but in fact only 40 miles away. A lovely property and probably the only pub boasting a pond with a red telephone box fountain the Three Horseshoes is well worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very good, will return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

Was looking for somewhere nice to take some friends visiting from Canada. My favourite restaurant was fully booked so I looked around for somewhere local. We were lucky to get the last table available on Saturday night and were told that would be in the bar (booked the night before). When we got there they had moved the tables around to accommodate us in the restaurant .... A nice touch. Food was good, very good in fact. Price was reasonable. The service was excellent. I think there were only three waiting staff to cover the entire restaurant and gardens and they all worked extremely hard. I had no issues with the service charge being added on to my bill, the guys deserved it. Finally, the sun was out and the views were tremendous. I will go back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tasty food, friendly staff & a nice area for a walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Found this place some time ago but only managed to get to taste the food this weekend. We arrived at 6.30 and managed to get ourselves a table for dinner. The place filled up pretty quickly so I think booking on a weekend is vital. Food was excellent. We had the prawn & chorizo salad and the cauliflower soup. Both great. I had the turbot as a main which was tasty but not as good as the steak which was perfectly cooked... which is rare! Portions were good sized and left enough space for the chocolate fondant and nuttella ice cream desert which was as good as it sounded. Service was quick and the staff were friendly. 3 courses & a couple of drinks and a bottle of wine, with the 'tip' came just over £90. Would go again to try some of the other dishes!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place to stay that serves excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed at the Three Horseshoes to see in the New Year. The Pub was lovely and cosy with an open fire, perfect place to sit and have a drink. The room we stayed in was very stylish and spacious with excellent views of the surrounding countryside. The food on New Years Eve was top quality and the cooked breakfasts were delicious!
We will certainly be going back to visit again.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Three Horseshoes Inn Restaurant also viewed

High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
 
High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Three Horseshoes Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Three Horseshoes Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.